Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

You are visiting the page of a show featured in the 2012 edition. Find all the shows from this edition in our archives

Benedict Mason / Frédéric Pattar / Karlheinz Stockhausen / Lucia Ronchetti

Trombone and String Quartet, Nachtkreis-Fragment, Hombre de mucha gravedad ...


    • Opéra National de Paris Bastille
      October 16


    Opulent musical theater brings sound to life on stage, a stage either imaginary or real, with a brass instrument cast in a key role for Benedict Mason’s Trombone and String Quartet, and fascinating virtuoso movements in his second String Quartet. A white shadow in the night for Nachtkreis-Fragment by Frédéric Pattar has dialogue and discord on stage. And visual inspiration for Hombre de mucha gravedad by Lucia Ronchetti inspired by the famous Velásquez painting, Las Meninas. Menschen Hört by Karlheinz Stockhausen, the last scene from Mittwoch in his grand scale opera, Licht, has a sextet of voices dramatically positioned around the audience.  

    Benedict Mason
    Trombone and String Quartet
    Quatuor à cordes n°2

    Frédéric Pattar
    Nachtkreis-Fragment for seven voices a cappella, text by Cécile Wajsbrot
    Commissioned by the Festival d’Automne à Paris and Musik der Jahrhunderte Stuttgart

    Lucia Ronchetti
    Hombre de mucha gravedad for four voices and a string quartet 
    Helicopters and Butterflies for solo percussion
    Commissioned by Festival d’Automne à Paris

    Karlheinz Stockhausen
    Menschen Hört pour sextuor vocal 
    (Finale scene of Mittwoch aus Licht)

    Mike Svoboda, trombone
    Christian Dierstein, percussion 
    Quatuor Arditti
    Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart



    Corealisation Opéra national de Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
    Withe the partnership of the Sacem, of  Diaphonique, Franco-British funds for contemporary music and the British Council 
    With the support of Mécénat Musical Société Générale and Fondation Ernst von Siemens for music
    France Musique will record this concert