Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

You are visiting the page of a show featured in the 2015 edition. Find all the shows from this edition in our archives
Portrait Romeo Castellucci

Romeo Castellucci

Ödipus der Tyrann

de Friedrich Hölderlin, d’après Sophocle

Theatre

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES
    • Théâtre de la Ville
      November 20 to November 24

    No stranger to hard-fought battles on theatre stages, Romeo Castellucci, now turns his attentions, for the very first time, to a dialogue-based piece, and a pre-existing troupe. And what a troupe it is - none other than the Schaubühne troupe, backed up by Angela Winkler. And what a piece it is too - Ödipus der Tyrann, in Hölderlin’s translation of Sophocles’ rendering of the heroic myth. Castellucci undoubtedly must have felt the need to undergo the rigours of the opera (Parsifal, Orfeo ed Euridice, Moïse und Aaron) in order to convince himself that inhabiting the poem in its original construction was now possible. After drawing from The Death of Empedocles in composing The Four Seasons Restaurant, and from Hyperion in Hyperion. Briefe eines Terroristen, the Italian director now tackles Ödipus der Tyrann in its entirety - in a fraternal embrace with the poet. It is an acknowledgement of what stirs him to very core in his rediscovery of Attic tragedy, the affirmation of the “feminine” and the “oriental” in ancient Greek thought. In opposition to this closed voice, which is also Tiresias’s, comes the open voice of Oedipus, and with it, reason which is blind to the sighted, and beyond mystery’s reach. Summoned by Romeo Castellucci from the interior of a convent for women and then on a Theban parvis, we are confronted with two spoken words, two civilizations - Greek and Christian - which interpenetrate and contaminate each other, mutually revealing themselves in the process. From out of this arises an engendering of a stupefying nature, the hallmark of the mastery and audacity of a true poet of the stage.

    Directed, stage and costume design by  Romeo Castellucci
    With Bernardo Arias Porras, Iris Becher, Jule Böwe, Rosabel Huguet, Ursina Lardi, Angela Winkler
    Artistic collaboration, Silvia Costa
    Music, Scott Gibbons
    Dramaturgy, Piersandra Di Matteo, Florian Borchmeyer
    Prompter, Timo Kreuser
    Soloists, Sirje Aleksandra Viise, Eva Zwedberg // 
    Assistant stage design, Mechthild Feuerstein
    Lighting design, Erich Schneider
    Video design, Jake Witlen
    Sculptures, Giovanna Amoroso, Istvan Zimmermann - Plastikart Studi­­o
    Extras, Malene Ahlert, Amelie Baier, Ursula Cezanne, Sophia Fabian, Eléna Fichtner, Margot Fricke, Eva Günther, Rachel Hamm, Andrea Hartmann, Annette Höpfner, Nadine Karbacher, Sara Keller, Pia Koch, Feline Lang, Marion Neumann, Monika Reineck, Vanessa Richter, Helga Rosenberg, Ria Schindler, Janine Schneider, Regina Törn, Christina Wintz

    A Schaubühne Berlin production// In partnership with Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
    In association with France Culture

     

    Romeo Castellucci’s second Parisian autumn will be a Greek one. Whether “Biblical” or “Greek”, the Italian director has been unceasing in his efforts to bring back to the surface the founding gestures of our culture, written and non-written, in order to reactivate them and put them to the test of our present. The immediate historical referents for each of the three pieces to be presented this season are very definitely Greek: Orestie (une comédie organique?); Ödipus der Tyrann; and Le Metope del Partenone. Together they fit into the narrow, dizzying, spatio-temporal window of Pericles and his century. Indeed, Phidias and his team sculpted the Parthenon friezes in between the period of time when, on the flanks of the Athenian hillside, Aeschylus brought us the Oresteia (458), in the theatre of Dionysus, and Sophocles Oedipus Rex (around 420). Key events, then, in the midst of an era during which the city-state par excellence invented this new art form: tragedy.

    The question of tragedy, its impossibility - in the Greek sense - and the need to face it in order for it be investigated has frequently come back to haunt the author of Go Down, Moses. When he embarked on the Tragedia Endogonidia (2002-2004), and its eleven episodes anchored in ten European cities, Castellucci indicated that: “Going back to tragedy does not signify a return to the past. It is more a question of cutting - and not picking up - the thread of Aeschylus. Tragedy ought to be considered as the only worthwhile competitor against which we can measure ourselves” (1). With Orestie (une comédie organique?), which he has decided to put on again, repertory-style, in its original version, twenty years after it was first performed, the director had already “cut the thread of Aeschylus”, becoming a sort of liberated “son” of the Oresteia. Exercising his right to shake the very foundations of this text, fragmenting them and exposing them to the present, via present-day means, namely those of technology and contemporary art, notably in the references to Bacon, was the director’s way of recalling the famous Triptych inspired by Aeschylus’s Oresteia.

    Just as Aeschylus and Sophocles extracted material for literary works of their own from heroic legends, so too has Castellucci delved into the Oresteia and Oedipus Rex for the making of his stage-work. He is not, however, alone in his efforts. In Ödipus der Tyrann, he has enlisted the guiding light of Hölderlin’s translation. For Castellucci, the German poet’s translation, along with its title, is the only one to have conveyed Sophocles’ text at its deepest level. It prompted the director to present, for the very first time, a piece written in its continuity. This new approach, however, has not prevented him from linking his Oedipus with his previous works. In episode P.#06 Paris of the Tragedia Endogonidia, performed in 2003 at the Odéon-Théâtre de l’Europe in conjunction with the Festival d’Automne, we saw the furtive entry, through a window, of a (masculine) Jesus/Oedipus, and who very definitely paid his dues to the Sphinx. In Ödipus der Tyrann, we will be to witness to his (female) avatar, Oedipus/Jesus, seemingly replying to him from his Theban palace.

    Numerous figures travel in such a way from one work to the next. It would impossible not to evoke the references to Bacon, inciting us to us look again at the images found in Orestie (une comédie organique?) and Ödipus der Tyrann. This composition brings us back to the question of colours and the colour of the flesh in Bacon’s work, a subject matter which Deleuze held close to his heart. The words of the philosopher, “Every man who suffers is a piece of meat” (2) echo the appalling accidents that the director summons up in Le Metope del Partenone. Even though the catastrophes are, repeatedly so, a far cry indeed from tragedy, Castellucci does all he can to shift around any immediate significations they might have, by means of a sharp twist in the proceedings, unleashing a series of written “riddles” just as the action unfurls.

    Last year, Go Down, Moses presented us with a few examples of these enigma. Such a form is one that Vernant links directly to the development of what may be called a tragic consciousness. “Man and his actions were presented, in tragedy’s peculiar perspective, not as stable realities that could be placed, defined and judged, but as problems, unanswerable questions, riddles, whose double meanings remain enigmatic however often decoded.” (3) This is where Castellucci’s theatre comes into competition with tragedy - in the search for a theatre for our century. A theatre which is unmistakably tragic, and radical, in that it prompts us to reconsider the place of the audience. This gesture alone, as tenuous as it might be, is very much in the order of tragedy, in that questions the individual and adds or restores, via a dotted line, a contour to a potential city-state.

    Ödipus der Tyrann
    © Arno Declair
    Romeo Castellucci
    © Arno Declair
    Ödipus der Tyrann
    DOWNLOADS
    Partners

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Vous êtes sur la page d'un spectacle de l'édition 2015, retrouvez tous les spectacles de cette édition dans nos archives
Portrait Romeo Castellucci

Romeo Castellucci

Ödipus der Tyrann

de Friedrich Hölderlin, d’après Sophocle

Théâtre

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Théâtre de la Ville
      20 au 24 novembre

    Après tant de combats singuliers sur les scènes de théâtre, Romeo Castellucci affronte, pour la première fois, une pièce « dialoguée » et une troupe établie. Et quelle troupe, puisqu’il s’agit de celle de la Schaubühne épaulée par Angela Winkler, et quelle pièce puisque c’est Ödipus der Tyrann, version Hölderlin de la version Sophocle du mythe héroïque. Sans doute lui-a-t-il fallu passer par l’épreuve de l’opéra (Parsifal, Orfeo ed Euridice, Moïse und Aaron) pour se convaincre qu’il lui était désormais possible d’habiter pleinement le poème dans sa construction originelle.
    Après avoir puisé dans La Mort d’Empédocle pour composer The Four Seasons Restaurant, et dans Hyperion pour Hyperion. Briefe eines Terroristen, le metteur en scène italien prend cette fois à bras le corps l’entier d’Ödipus der Tyrann, dans une fraternelle étreinte avec le poète. Il reconnait ce qui l’agite au plus profond dans sa redécouverte de la tragédie attique, celle d’une pensée où s’affirmerait la part « féminine » et « orientale » de la Grèce. À cette voix couverte, qui est aussi celle de Tirésias, s’opposerait la voix ouverte d’Œdipe, celle d’une raison faut-il dire aveugle aux voyants, fermée aux mystères. Appelées par Romeo Castellucci depuis l’intérieur d’un couvent de femmes puis sur un parvis thébain, ce sont deux paroles, deux civilisations – grecque et chrétienne – qui s’interpénètrent et se contaminent tout en se révélant l’une à l’autre. Pour donner naissance à un stupéfiant engendrement paraphant la maîtrise et l’audace d’un poète de la scène.

    Mise en scène, scénographie, costumes, Romeo Castellucci
    Avec Bernardo Arias Porras, Iris Becher, Jule Böwe, Rosabel Huguet, Ursina Lardi, Angela Winkler
    Collaboration artistique, Silvia Costa
    Musique, Scott Gibbons
    Dramaturgie, Piersandra Di Matteo, Florian Borchmeyer
    Répétiteur, Timo Kreuser
    Solistes, Sirje Aleksandra Viise, Eva Zwedberg
    Assistant à la scénographie, Mechthild Feuerstein
    Lumière, Erich Schneider
    Vidéo, Jake Witlen
    Sculptures, Giovanna Amoroso, Istvan Zimmermann - Plastikart Studi­­o
    Figurants, Malene Ahlert, Amelie Baier, Ursula Cezanne, Sophia Fabian, Eléna Fichtner, Margot Fricke, Eva Günther, Rachel Hamm, Andrea Hartmann, Annette Höpfner, Nadine Karbacher, Sara Keller, Pia Koch, Feline Lang, Marion Neumann, Monika Reineck, Vanessa Richter, Helga Rosenberg, Ria Schindler, Janine Schneider, Regina Törn, Christina Wintz

    Production Schaubühne Berlin // Coréalisation Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
    En partenariat avec France Culture

    REVENIR À LA TRAGÉDIE
    Le second Automne parisien de Romeo Castellucci sera grec.
    Qu’ils soient « bibliques » ou « grecs », le metteur en scène italien n’a cessé de faire remonter les gestes fondateurs de notre culture, écrits et non-écrits, pour les réactiver et y soumettre notre présent. Grecs sont bel et bien les référents historiques immédiats des trois pièces présentées cette saison : Orestie (une comédie organique ?) ; Ödipus der Tyrann ; Le Metope del Partenone, qui s’inscrivent dans la fenêtre spatio-temporelle aussi étroite qu’éblouissante du siècle de Périclès. Phidias et les siens sculptent en effet les métopes – les frises – du Parthénon entre le moment où, sur le flanc de la colline athénienne, dans le théâtre de Dionysos, Eschyle donne L’Orestie (458) et Sophocle Œdipe Roi (autour de 420). Au mitan d’une époque où la cité par excellence invente cet art nouveau : la tragédie.

    La question de la tragédie, de son impossibilité – au sens grec –, et du besoin de se placer face à elle pour l’interroger n’a cessé de hanter l’auteur de Go Down, Moses. Lorsqu’il entreprend le cycle de la Tragedia Endogonidia (2002-2004), et ses onze épisodes ancrés dans dix villes européennes, Castellucci indique : « Revenir à la tragédie ne signifie pas se tourner vers le passé. Il faut couper – et non reprendre – le fil d’Eschyle… il faut considérer la tragédie comme l’unique concurrent qu’on puisse se donner » (1). Avec Orestie (une comédie organique ?), qu’il a décidé de reprendre telle quelle, comme une pièce de répertoire, exactement vingt ans après sa création, le metteur en scène avait déjà « coupé le fil d’Eschyle », en devenant en quelque sorte un « fils » libéré de L’Orestie. Libre de reprendre le texte depuis ses fondements en le fragmentant et l’exposant au présent, avec les moyens du présent, ceux de la technologie et de l’art contemporain, notamment dans les références à Bacon, ne serait-ce qu’en souvenance du fameux Triptyque inspiré par L’Orestie d’Eschyle.

    De même qu’Eschyle ou Sophocle ont extrait de légendes héroïques le matériau de leurs tragédies et en ont fait œuvre littéraire personnelle, Castellucci extrait son propre matériau de L’Orestie ou de Œdipe roi, pour élaborer son œuvre scénique. Non sans appuis essentiels. Pour Ödipus der Tyrann, il a enrôlé le guide par excellence : Hölderlin. La traduction du poète allemand est la seule, selon lui, à avoir rétabli, avec le titre, le texte de Sophocle dans son sens profond. Ce qui conduit le metteur en scène à présenter pour la première fois une pièce écrite dans sa continuité. Cette approche inédite ne lui interdit pas de nouer son Œdipe à ses œuvres précédentes. Dans l’épisode P.#06 Paris, de la Tragedia Endogonidia, présenté en 2003 à l’Odéon-Théâtre de l’Europe avec le Festival d’Automne, on avait vu entrer furtivement par une fenêtre un Jésus/Œdipe (masculin) qui n’avait pas manqué de payer son écot à la sphynge. Dans Ödipus der Tyrann, on verra son avatar (féminin), Œdipe/Jésus, sembler lui répondre depuis son palais thébain.

    Nombreuses sont les figures qui voyagent ainsi d’œuvre en œuvre. Comment ne pas évoquer encore les références baconiennes mettant en regard les images d’Orestie (une comédie organique ?), et le fascinant triptyque final d’Ödipus der Tyrann. Une composition qui vient reposer la question chère à Deleuze des couleurs et de la teneur de la chair chez Bacon. De même, le « Tout homme qui souffre est de la viande » du philosophe (2) pourrait faire écho aux terribles accidents provoqués par le metteur en scène dans Le Metope del Partenone. Quoique la catastrophe, même répétée, soit de toute autre nature que la tragédie, Castellucci s’évertue à en déplacer le sens immédiat par un balancement déchirant, en dispensant dans le temps même de l’action des « devinettes » écrites.

    L’an dernier, Go Down, Moses nous avait livré quelques exemples de ces énigmes. Une forme que Vernant relie directement à l’apparition de la conscience tragique : « L’homme et son action se profilent, dans la perspective propre à la tragédie, non comme des réalités stables qu’on pourrait cerner, définir et juger, mais comme des problèmes, des questions sans réponses, des énigmes dont les doubles sens restent sans cesse à déchiffrer. » (3) En cet endroit aussi le théâtre de Castellucci vient concurrencer la tragédie pour donner un théâtre à notre siècle. Un théâtre indéniablement tragique, refondateur de la place du spectateur à qui il demande de se réinventer. Ce geste seul, aussi ténu soit-il, est bien de l’ordre de la tragédie, en ce qu’il vient questionner l’individu et rendre, en pointillé, un contour à une possible cité.

    Jean-Louis Perrier

    (1). Romeo Castellucci, Itinera, Trajectoires de la forme, Éditions Actes Sud, 2008
    (2). Gilles Deleuze, Francis Bacon, Logique de la sensation, Le Seuil, 2013
    (3). Jean-Pierre Vernant, Pierre Vidal-Naquet, Mythe et tragédie en Grèce ancienne, tome II, Éditions de La Découverte, 2001

    Ödipus der Tyrann
    © Arno Declair
    Romeo Castellucci
    © Arno Declair
    Ödipus der Tyrann
    Partenaires