Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

You are visiting the page of a show featured in the 2016 edition. Find all the shows from this edition in our archives
Portrait Lucinda Childs

Lucinda Childs

Dance

Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon

Dance

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES
    • Théâtre de la Ville
      September 29 to October 3
    • Théâtre de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, Scène nationale
      October 6 and 7

    Dance. The title of this monument to choreographic art instantly puts the research work of Lucinda Childs on the horizon, i.e. a dance form which is free of any intentionality or theatricality, and which is centered exclusively on the expression of its pure essence. In the manner of Jackson Pollock’s abstract paintings, this composition is a celebration of the perpetual engendering of form through movement. Created in 1979, Dance constitutes a synthesis between the silence and sparseness of her previous works, such as Radial Courses, and the stage work developed in conjunction with Philip Glass and Robert Wilson in the Einstein on the Beach opera. She once again turned to Philip Glass, whose repetitive melodic structures provided the perfect accompaniment to the purity of her choreographic language, as collaborator on this first, large-scale piece designed for the theatre. The artist Sol LeWitt added to the equation with his proposition of a film-based mechanism which duplicated and enlarged the flux of the onstage movements. In three twenty minute-long sections, Lucinda Childs gave shape to a glissando of aerial gestures continually altering in accordance with the loops in Philip Glass’s music, setting up the possibility of tiny variations. In this work, simple, basic, steps are used to trace out circles, arcs, and diagonals on the ground, forming a vast counterpoint, and then echoed by the projected images. The superimposed presence of the film - remade by dancers from Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon for the occasion, and based on the original - gives rise to the interpenetration of silhouettes and their doubles. This bewildering optical effect transports the audience’s gaze into the beating heart of the movement, and imbibes the space with a multidimensional volume. The resulting, plan-like formation is one in which the different lines dream their way into and out of different compositions, in a sliding, floating, fluid and altogether timeless world.

    Choreography, Lucinda Childs
    Music, Philip Glass © 1979 Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc.
    Costume designer, A. Christina Giannini
    Lighting designer, Beverly Emmons
    Conception of the original film, Sol LeWitt
    Film remade, in identical fashion to the original version, with the Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon dancers, by Marie-Hélène Rebois – Director of photography, Hélène Louvart – Continuity, Anne Abeille – Editing, Jocelyne Ruiz – Effects, Philippe Perrot
    A piece for 17 dancers

    In association with Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris for performances at Théâtre de la Ville-Paris // First performed on 17th October 1979 at Stadsschouwburg de Eindhoven (Holland) – The piece entered into the Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon repertory on 13th Avril 2016 // In partnership with France Inter

    Delving into the Festival d’Automne’s archives reveals the importance given over to the “pioneers” of American dance. The 1979 edition featured works by Merce Cunningham, Deborah Hay, and Trisha Brown. In the same edition, Lucinda Childs presented a piece set to the music of Philip Glass, marking the start of a long history of work together, and an unshakeable sense of loyalty. Together, these names formed a constellation, stemming from the central, tutelary figure of Merce Cunningham, and which reorganized itself around a new generation of so-called “post-modern” choreographers during the 1960’s. Schooled, for the most part, in the Cunningham technique, but also having taken on board the ideas of John Cage on such things as the action of chance, the relationship with context and the refusal of pre-established formats, New York’s Judson Church quickly became a meeting place for this informal collective of artists and dancers, each with a common aim to overturn the way we set about doing dance and any conceptions we had about it. From out of it came the formulation of their demands for transparency, and a rejection of all forms of narration or expression, coupled with the use of new spaces and a movement vocabulary built upon everyday gestures. Lucinda Childs, one of the movement’s founding members, created, in the period 1963 to 1966, thirteen intriguing pieces situated somewhere between performance, sculpture and daily ritual. In an interview, Yvonne Rainer recalls the strange experience of watching this girl with a slender body giving herself over to bizarre experiments on her body, as in her pivotal work Carnations, in which she transforms herself into a “ready-made”, object adorned with household items. For Lucinda Childs, these pieces were, above all, exercises in freeing up her own academicism. But with the bringing into question of the playing space itself, and the refusal of the “spectacular”, her work was already heading in the direction of rigorous composition, the use of repetition and the accumulation of elementary actions as the basis for composition. As such, Lucinda Childs’ trajectory is exemplary of one rooted in the laboratory of post-modern dance research but which went on to invent a minimalist language of its own, in which simplicity and economy of means are the order of the day.

    From 1968 onwards, she began applying this logic of deconstruction to the classical vocabulary that she was in the midst of learning. All of her works dating back to this period, such as Radial Courses or Katema, sought to redefine the possible combinations between walking, running, jumping, jeté and the geometric implication of the body in the space. The resulting abstraction affirmed a refusal of personal expression, in favour of shapes and forms generated by their own dynamic - more often than not in silence, in non-theatre spaces such as galeries and museums. Another determining phase was the encounter with Philip Glass and Robert Wilson, for whom she choreographed the Einstein on the Beach opera in 1976. Driven on by Wilson’s sparse onstage language and Glass’s music - the rhythmic precision and melodic simplicity of which proved to be the perfect counterpart to her own research work, she embarked on the conception of a large-scale form for the stage. The result was Dance, in 1979, a choreographic poem whose title summed up perfectly this contraction towards a form which is dance, and dance only. It hinged upon basic, simple steps, modulated by different rhythms, repeated to dizzying effect, and underpinned by Glass’s music and Sol LeWitt’s filmic installation. AVAILABLE LIGHT, in 1983, marked the high-point in this harmonic upsurge between musical, choreographic and spatial constructions.

    A third crucial period began during the early 1990’s, via the collaboration with the harpsichordist Elisabeth Chojnacka, who introduced her to the field of European contemporary music. This contact with the work of composers such as Luc Ferrari, György Ligetti, Henryck Górecki and Mauricio Kagel, whose non-linear structures dislocated the clarity of the minimalist lines, brought about a transformation in her work. Pieces such as Rhythm Plus or Concerto bear witness to this new-found inflection, making more space available for the fragility of states, and quavering figures. From the 1990’s into the 2000’s, her approach has diversified. Regularly invited to work with prestigious ballet companies, she has choreographed or directed numerous opera productions such as Orpheus and Eurydice by Gluck, Zaide by Mozart, and Dr. Atomic by John Adams. This diversity forms a major part of her work, right up to the present day.

    The work of Lucinda Childs, brought to us in all its diversity by this Festival d’Automne Portrait, has been a decisive influence on numerous choreographers - from La Ribot to Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker - and on all the areas it touches upon, ranging from performance, theatre, and opera to ballet. Through its resolutely pluridisciplinary approach, it has provided a profound source of renewal for XXth century choreographic art. Whether in terms of the revival work undertaken with her niece Ruth Childs, her company or the pieces that she has imparted to the Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon, this very special form of dance continues on its stellar journey, an ode to the purity of movement.

    “Such a work is dance”

    Gilles Amalvi

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Vous êtes sur la page d'un spectacle de l'édition 2016, retrouvez tous les spectacles de cette édition dans nos archives
Portrait Lucinda Childs

Lucinda Childs

Dance

Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon

Danse

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Théâtre de la Ville
      29 septembre au 3 octobre
    • Théâtre de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, Scène nationale
      6 et 7 octobre

    Dance. Le titre de ce monument de l’art chorégraphique pose d’emblée l’horizon de la recherche de Lucinda Childs : celle d’une danse libérée de toute forme d’intentionalité ou de théâtralité, qui ne viserait que l’expression de sa pure essence. À la manière de la peinture abstraite de Jackson Pollock, cette composition célèbre le perpétuel engendrement de la forme par le mouvement des corps. Créée en 1979, Dance constitue un moment de synthèse entre l’épure silencieuse de ses pièces antérieures comme Radial Courses et le travail scénique mené avec Philip Glass et Robert Wilson sur l’opéra Einstein on the Beach. C’est avec le même Philip Glass, dont les structures mélodiques répétitives épousent parfaitement l’épure de son langage chorégraphique, qu’elle collabore pour cette première grande pièce conçue pour le théâtre. L’artiste Sol LeWitt s’ajoute à l’équation en proposant un dispositif filmique redoublant et agrandissant le flux de mouvements qui parcourt la scène. En trois sections de vingt minutes, Lucinda Childs façonne un glissando de gestes aériens qui s’ajustent aux boucles de Philip Glass, se décalent au fil d’infimes variations : des pas simples dessinent au sol cercles, arcs, diagonales, formant un vaste contrepoint redoublé par le défilement des images. La présence en surimpression du film – pour l’occasion retourné par le Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon à partir de l’original – produit une interpénétration des silhouettes et de leurs doubles : un vertige qui transporte le regard au cœur du mouvement et donne à l’espace un volume multidimensionnel – à la manière d’un plan où les lignes rêvent et s’agencent, où tout semble glisser, flotter dans un territoire fluide, hors du temps.

    Chorégraphie, Lucinda Childs
    Musique, Philip Glass © 1979 Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc.
    Costumes, A. Christina Giannini
    Lumière, Beverly Emmons
    Conception originale du film, Sol LeWitt
    Film retourné à l’identique du film original avec les danseurs du Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon par Marie-Hélène Rebois – Chef opérateur, Hélène Louvart – Scripte, Anne Abeille – Montage, Jocelyne Ruiz – Trucages, Philippe Perrot
    Pièce pour 17 danseurs

     

    Coréalisation Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris pour les représentations au Théâtre de la Ville-Paris // Spectacle créé le 17 octobre 1979 au Stadsschouwburg de Eindhoven (Pays-Bas) – Pièce entrée au répertoire du Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon le 13 avril 2016 // En partenariat avec France Inter

    En fouillant dans les archives du Festival d’Automne, on peut constater l’importance accordée aux « pionniers » de la danse américaine. L’édition de 1979 comportait ainsi des spectacles de Merce Cunningham, Deborah Hay, Trisha Brown, ainsi que Lucinda Childs, qui présentait une pièce conçue sur la musique de Philip Glass, marquant le début d’une longue histoire et d’une fidélité jamais démentie. Tous ces noms forment une constellation, qui part de la figure tutélaire de Merce Cunningham, et qui va se redéployer à partir des années 1960 autour d’une nouvelle génération de chorégraphes appelés « postmodernes ». Issus pour la plupart de l’école de Cunningham, mais ayant subi l’influence déterminante des idées de John Cage sur l’action du hasard, le rapport au contexte et le refus des formats pré-établis, ils se retrouvent à New York au sein de la Judson Church, comme un collectif informel d’artistes et de danseurs déterminés à bouleverser les manières de faire et de concevoir la danse. Là, ils vont formuler une exigence de transparence, un rejet de la narration et de l’expression, conjugués à l’utilisation de nouveaux espaces et d’un vocabulaire gestuel fondé sur les mouvements du quotidien. Membre fondatrice de ce courant, Lucinda Childs crée, entre 1963 et 1966, treize pièces comme autant d’intrigants objets oscillant entre la performance, la sculpture et le rituel quotidien. Dans un entretien, Yvonne Rainer se souvient de l’étrangeté à voir cette jeune femme au corps élancé se livrer à d’étranges opérations sur son corps, comme dans la célèbre pièce Carnation où elle se transforme en ready-made orné d’objets domestiques. Pour Lucinda Childs, ces pièces étaient avant tout des exercices visant à se libérer de ses propres académismes : mais avec la mise en question de l’espace théâtral et le refus du « spectaculaire » pointent déjà la rigueur de la composition, l’utilisation de la répétition et l’accumulation d’actions élémentaires comme bases de composition. En cela, le cheminement de Lucinda Childs est exemplaire d’une trajectoire qui s’ancre dans le laboratoire de la danse postmoderne pour ensuite inventer son langage propre minimaliste, dont le mot d’ordre est celui de la simplicité et de l’économie de moyens.
    À partir de 1968, elle va appliquer cette logique de déconstruction au vocabulaire classique qu’elle apprend au même moment. Toutes les œuvres de cette période, comme Radial Courses ou Katema, cherchent à redéfinir les combinaisons entre la marche, la course, le saut, le jeté et l’implication géométrique du corps dans l’espace. L’abstraction qui en résulte affirme un refus de l’expression personnelle, au profit de formes générées par leur dynamique propre – le plus souvent en silence, dans des espaces alternatifs comme les galeries ou les musées. Une autre étape déterminante est la rencontre avec Philip Glass et Robert Wilson, pour lesquels elle signe en 1976 la chorégraphie de l’opéra Einstein on the Beach. Sous l’impulsion du langage scénique épuré de Wilson et de la musique de Glass – dont la précision rythmique et la simplicité mélodique sont en adéquation parfaite avec ses propres recherches, elle se lance dans la conception d’une grande forme pour la scène. Le résultat sera Dance en 1979, poème chorégraphique dont le titre résume bien la tension vers une forme qui ne serait que danse : des pas simples, modulés par les rythmes, répétés jusqu’au vertige, soutenus par la musique de Glass et l’installation filmique de Sol LeWitt. AVAILABLE LIGHT en 1983 marque l’apogée de cet élan harmonique entre les constructions musicales, chorégraphiques et spatiales.
    Une troisième période cruciale est initiée au début des années 1990 par la collaboration avec la claveciniste Elisabeth Chojnacka qui lui fait découvrir le champ de la musique contemporaine européenne. Au contact de compositeurs comme Luc Ferrari, György Ligeti, Henryk Górecki ou Mauricio Kagel, dont les structures non-linéaires désarticulent la clarté de ses lignes minimalistes, sa danse se transforme. Des pièces comme Rythm Plus ou Concerto témoignent de cette inflexion, laissant plus de place à la fragilité des états, au tremblé des figures. Des années 1990 aux années 2000, son approche se diversifie : régulièrement invitée par de prestigieuses compagnies de ballet, elle chorégraphie ou dirige de nombreuses productions d’opéra comme Orphée et Eurydice de Gluck, Zaide de Mozart, ou Dr. Atomic de John Adams – diversité qui marque son travail jusqu’à aujourd’hui.
    L’œuvre de Lucinda Childs, que le Portrait proposé par le Festival d’Automne rend visible dans toute sa diversité, a eu une influence déterminante sur de nombreux chorégraphes – de La Ribot à Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker – et sur tous les champs qu’elle a abordés : la performance, le spectacle, l’opéra ou le ballet – renouvelant en profondeur l’art chorégraphique du XXe siècle par son approche résolument pluridisciplinaire. Que ce soit via le travail de reconstitution mené avec sa nièce Ruth Childs, sa compagnie, ou les pièces qu’elle a transmises au Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon, cette danse poursuit sa vie stellaire, comme une ode à la pureté du mouvement.

    Gilles Amalvi