Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

William Forsythe
x Ryoji Ikeda

 

Visual Arts

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    In this exhibition, William Forsythe, the iconoclastic choreographer and the multi-disciplinary musician Ryoji Ikeda present their artwork simultaneously. These two mesmerizing installations make for a mentally and physically engaging experience.
    The former is a choreographer who, not content with having revolutionized “classical” ballet, has always been an exponent of choreography - which, says he, is not to be confused with dance.The latter, one of the leading figures in electronic music, approaches music in conjunction with its spatial and visual arts-related dimensions. Between William Forsythe, American but previously based in Frankfurt, whose work says much about his passion for music, and Ryoji Ikeda, Japanese but based in Paris, who made his artistic début as part of the groundbreaking Dumb Type collective, their paths were bound to cross. After collaborating in 2006 on Forsythe’s Antipodes I/II installation and then jointly presenting other installations on several occasions, spectators will once again be given the opportunity to compare their visual arts-based work. Nowhere and Everywhere at the Same Time N°2, an installation initially created in an abandoned building in New York and whose shape adapts to each new environment forms part of William Forsythe’s Choreographic Objects. It consists of hundreds of pendulum hanging in a space, prompting the visitor to rethink the relationship between his or her body and the space. It invites the visitor to be the activating force behind the work, he or she becoming its choreographer. As for Ryoji Ikeda, he presents a new, monumental variant of his Test Pattern project, in which he translates and materializes the influx of data (sounds, texts, photographs and films) which submerge our everyday lives. A hypnotic succession of black and white motifs, barcodes generated by the real time conversion of sound waves, unfurl before us at a dizzying rate in synch with the music. Spectators are invited on a journey into the confines of their perception, and with it, a meditation on the limits of their condition.

    Nowhere and Everywhere at the Same Time Nº2
    Devised by William Forsythe
    Producer, Julian Gabriel Richter
    Technical conception and realization, Max Schubert
    Construction, Christian Schubert
    Programming, Sven Thöne

    Co-produced by The Forsythe Company ; Ruhrtriennale – International Festival of the Arts // The installation was first shown on the 24th August 2013 as part of the Ruhrtriennale 2013

    test pattern [n°13]
    Devised and composed by Ryoji Ikeda
    Infography and programming, Tomonaga Tokuyama

    Produced by Ryoji Ikeda Studio (Paris, Kyoto) // The « test pattern » series of installations began in 2008 at Yamaguchi Center for Arts and Media.In association with La Villette (Paris) ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris

    Around William Forsythe x Ryoji Ikeda at la Villette, two more exhibitions :

    William Forsythe: "Choreographic Objects"
    October 15 - December 22
    Gagosian gallery / Le Bourget
    26 Avenue de l'Europe - 93350 Le Bourget
    Opening: Sunday October,  14h – 18h

    Parallel to the evolution of his choreographic performances, William Forsythe has been working for more than twenty years on installations, film works, and discrete, interactive sculptures that he calls "choreographic objects." Consistent with his expanded conceptual aim of activating or 'choreographing' the lay observer, the Choreographic Objects prompt the conscious engagement of viewers in a given environment. In the Le Bourget gallery,  Forsythe presents selected works from recent years, including the thrilling and majestic spectacle of Black Flags (2015), a composition for two robotic standard bearers, and the intimately scaled Towards the Diagnostic Gaze, with which viewers may actively engage. None of these works has previously been seen in Paris. None of these works has previously been seen in Paris.

    Ryoji Ikeda
    Almine Rech Gallery
    29 novembre–21 décembre
    64 Rue de Turenne, 75003 Paris
    www.alminerech.com
    More information in September

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

William Forsythe
x Ryoji Ikeda

 

Arts Plastiques

    DATES ET LIEUX

    William Forsythe, chorégraphe iconoclaste, et Ryoji Ikeda, musicien multidisciplinaire, présentent simultanément leur travail plastique. Deux installations envoûtantes et monumentales qui engagent le visiteur jusque dans son corps.
    Le premier est un chorégraphe qui, non content d’avoir révolutionné le ballet « classique », a toujours professé de la chorégraphie – laquelle, dit-il, ne saurait être confondue avec la danse. Le second, l’une des figures-phares de la scène des musiques électroniques, envisage la musique simultanément dans ses dimensions plastique et spatiale. Entre William Forsythe, l’Américain jadis établi à Francfort, dont l’œuvre dit assez la passion de la musique, et Ryoji Ikeda, le Japonais installé à Paris, qui fit ses débuts artistiques au sein du précurseur collectif Dumb Type, la rencontre semblait tomber sous le sens. Après avoir collaboré en 2006 autour de l’installation Antipodes I/II de Forsythe, et présenté conjointement leurs installations à plusieurs reprises, ils confrontent une fois encore leur travail plastique. Nowhere and Everywhere at the Same Time Nº2, basée sur une installation initialement créée dans un bâtiment abandonné de New York et dont la forme s’adapte à chaque nouvel environnement, s’inscrit dans la série des Objets chorégraphiques de William Forsythe : des centaines de pendules disposés dans l’espace obligent le visiteur à repenser le rapport de son corps à celui-ci, et l’invitent à activer l’œuvre pour en devenir le chorégraphe. Quant à Ryoji Ikeda, il présente une nouvelle déclinaison, monumentale, de son projet test pattern, à travers laquelle il traduit et matérialise le flux de données (sons, textes, photos, films) dans lequel nous sommes quotidiennement immergés. Une succession hypnotique de motifs noirs et blancs, codes-barres générés par la conversion en temps réel d’ondes sonores, défile à un rythme vertigineux, en synchronie avec la musique, invite le visiteur autant à s’aventurer aux confins de sa perception qu’à méditer sur les limites de sa condition.

    Visite d’exposition traduite en langue des signes française
    Samedi 9 décembre 15h – La Villette / Grande halle
    Renseignements et réservation auprès de Pascale Tabart :
    p.tabart@festival-automne.comRéalisation Accès Culture

    Informations pratiques
    Exposition du 1er au 31 décembre
    Du Mardi au Dimanche, de 14h à 20h
    Pas de réservation, 5 et 8 euros, gratuit pour les abonnés du Festival sur présentation de leur carte d'abonné.

     



     

    Nowhere and Everywhere at the Same Time Nº2
    Conception, William Forsythe
    Réalisation, Julian Gabriel Richter
    Conception et réalisation technique, Max Schubert
    Construction, Christian Schubert
    Programmation, Sven Thöne
    Coproduction The Forsythe Company ; Ruhrtriennale – International Festival of the Arts // Installation créée le 24 août 2013 dans le cadre de la Ruhrtriennale 2013

    test pattern [nº13]
    Conception et composition, Ryoji Ikeda
    Infographie, programmation, Tomonaga Tokuyama

    Production Ryoji Ikeda Studio (Paris, Kyoto) // La série des installations « test pattern » a débuté en 2008 à Yamaguchi Center for Arts and Media.
    Coréalisation La Villette (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris

    Deux autres expositions consacrées à ces artistes seront présentées cet automne :

    William Forsythe
    15 octobre au 22 décembre
    Galerie Gagosian / Le Bourget
    26 Avenue de l'Europe - 93350 Le Bourget
    Vernissage : Dimanche 15 octobre, 14h – 18h

    Parallèlement à l’évolution de ses performances chorégraphiques, Forsythe a travaillé pendant plus de vingt ans à créer des installations, des œuvres filmographiques, ainsi que des sculptures discrètes et interactives qu’il appelle « objets chorégraphiques ». En accord avec son ample projet conceptuel d’activer ou de « chorégraphier » l’observateur ordinaire, les Objets Chorégraphiques poussent les spectateurs à prendre conscience de leur participation dans un environnement donné. A la galerie du Bourget, Forsythe présentera une sélection d’œuvres récentes, dont le spectacle palpitant et majestueux  de Black Flags (2015), une composition de deux robots porte-drapeaux, et l’installation à échelle plus restreinte, intime, Towards the Diagnostic Gaze avec laquelle les spectateurs sont invités à interagir activement. Ces oeuvres n'ont jamais été montrées à Paris.
    www.gagosian.com

    Ryoji Ikeda
    29 novembre au 21 décembre
    Almine Rech Gallery

    64 Rue de Turenne, 75003 Paris
    www.alminerech.com
    Plus d’information à partir de septembre