Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

You are visiting the page of a show featured in the 2012 edition. Find all the shows from this edition in our archives

Johannes Ciconia / Guillaume de Machaut / Brian Ferneyhough / Benedict Mason

the neurons, the tongue, the cochlea… the breath, the resonance ...


    • Opéra National de Paris Bastille
      November 12


    A vast instrumentarium, both ancient and modern, is deployed for the neurons, the tongue, the cochlea… the breath, the resonance, taking the audience beyond the senses into the realm of the imagination.
    Hinterstoisser Traverse, referring to the tragic attempt to climb the north face of the Eiger in the Swiss Alps, expresses depth, height, distance and speed – perceived or real – in detailed, taut, three-dimensional music. Finis Terrae by Brian Ferneyhough, carrying on the tradition of English composers of the Renaissance and of Guillaume de Machaut, has proportion, precision and striking refinement, offering musical allegory and, ultimately, melancholy. 

    Benedict Mason
    Hinterstoisser Traverse pour ensemble
    the neurons, the tongue, the cochlea… the breath, the resonance 
    for twenty-twoi musicians playing newly created  instruments

    Guillaume de Machaut 
    Tant doucement me sens emprisonnes (four voices)
    Johannes Ciconia

    Le ray au soleyl (three voices)

    Codex Chantilly 

    Rodericus, Angelorum psalat tripudium

    (two voices)
    Pierre de Molins, De ce que foul pense souvent ramaynt
    (four voices)
    Brian Ferneyhough 
    Finis Terrae pour six voix et ensemble*
    Commissioned by Ensemble Musikfabrik, Kunststiftung NRW, Festival d’Automne à Paris and Casa da Musica (Porto)
    Ensemble vocal Exaudi / Director James Weeks
    Ensemble Musikfabrik    
    *Emilio Pomarico, direction


    Corealisation Opéra national de Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
    With the participation of the Sacem, of  Diaphonique, Franco-British Founds  for contempory music, and British Council
    With the participation of Mécénat Musical Société Générale, 
    Ernst von Siemens Foundation for music

    France Musique records and broadcasts this concert