Igor Stravinsky / Matthias Pintscher / Anton Webern

Im Sommerwind / Chute d’étoiles / L’Oiseau de feu

Archive 2013

Anton Webern
Im Sommerwind
Matthias Pintscher
Chute d’étoiles for two trumpets and orchestra (creation in France)
Igor Stravinsky
L’Oiseau de feu (Full version)
Reinhold Friedrich, trumpet
Marc Geujon, trumpet
Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Paris
Direction, Matthias Pintscher
New Musical Director of Ensemble intercontemporain, Matthias Pintscher is directing the concerts of 27 of Septembre and 8 of Novembre at la Cité de la musique
Corealisation Opéra national de Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
With the contribution of the Sacem

Webern’s first orchestral composition and Stravinsky’s first ballet ; then sculptural inspiration for Pintscher (Anselm Kiefer’s vast installation in Paris’s Grand Palais), expressing power and mass, force made malleable, as if hearing the echo of a big bang, first exploding, then tamed, only to be rent asunder by a trumpet duo.