Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Clara Iannotta
Mark Andre
György Ligeti
Wolfgang Rihm

 

Music

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    The program for the Arditti Quartet features new works by Clara Iannotta and Mark Andre, plus already acclaimed works by Wolfgang Rihm and György Ligeti, offering the musicians varied scope for the range of expressive palettes in contemporary string quartet compositions.
    Clara Iannotta based her work on a line of verse by Dorothy Molloy: “dead wasps in the jam jar,” taking the strikingly visual image onto a different plane to produce sound. A surface, for this composer, is little more than reflection and refraction, and an enticing prospect.Compositions for string quartet produce constant dialogue between the different elements and expressive potential of the four musicians and their four instruments, and methodically change the variables. In 2011, Wolfgang Rihm composed a quartet (his thirteenth) extending the individual dimension of the four components through a panoramic approach (possibly a serial approach) to different ways of playing and different accent patterns. The result is an atmosphere of combat, a sense of urgent need conveyed through the tension created, reaching the point where the temptation to exhaust all potential sources may develop a certain spiritual force. When Mark Andre added Miniaturen für Streichquartett (iv 13) to “iv”, his soloist and chamber music cycle, he chose the letters in the words introversion and intravenous, and found a classification of different ways of having sound disappear. The works in iv 13 have references to Jesus disappearing: after he appeared to Mary Magdalene (“Do not hold on to me,” John 20, 11-18), and on the road to Emmaus (Luke 24, 13-35). The program ends with György Ligeti’s Quartet No. 2 (1968), featuring a pointillist section, followed by forceful bowing, and an entire pizzicato movement.

    Wolfgang Rihm
    Quartet No. 13
    Mark Andre
    Miniaturen für Streichquartett (iv 13) (French première – commissioned by the Arditti Quartet and Musica Viva Munich, with support from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, and the Festival d’Automne à Paris with ProQuartet-CEMC)
    Clara Iannotta
    dead wasps in the jam jar (iii) (world premiere – commissioned by the Festival d’Automne à Paris and ProQuartet-CEMC, with support from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation)
    György Ligeti
    Quartet No. 2

    Arditti Quartet

    In association with C.I.C.T. Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord (Paris); Festival d’Automne à Paris // With support from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation // With support from SACEM // With support from ADAMI.

    The Arditti Quartet, that legendary contemporary music ensemble, was founded in 1974 by Irvine Arditti. Over the past five decades, ten musicians have taken turns sitting at its different music stands to perform alongside Arditti, staying anywhere from two to twenty-five years. Although the quartet’s contemporary repertoire involves no musical hierarchy (“all the parts are written for soloists”), Irvine Arditti has been the central pillar of a group responsible for producing a dizzying list of new compositions and recordings that reads like an encyclopaedia. “Without wanting to sound arrogant, it’s safe to assume the history of contemporary music would have been different if the Arditti Quartet had never existed.” The archives of this international living treasure have been added to the collections of the Paul Sacher Foundation, which has already begun storing files on microfilm and classifying documents (recordings, annotated sheet music, and more, all accessible to researchers), attesting to this exceptional adventure.

    Irvine Arditti “fell” into contemporary music while his classmates were in the throes of Beatlemania. At age thirteen, he attended a concert in Oxford by the National Orchestra, which was touring the works of Olivier Messiaen and Iannis Xenakis. He also listened to German radio stations and grew particularly fond of Karlheinz Stockhausen’s music, whom he found “more accessible” than Boulez. Arditti would also go on to participate in a performance of the former’s Hymnen, with Jonathan Harvey on keyboards, who would go on to write Arditti’s first quartet in 1977. At age fifteen, Irvine Arditti left England for the first time to attend a summer course at the Darmstadt School. (His violin teachers never taught past Bartók.) He was also studying composition, but quickly gave that up, feeling too influenced by Ligeti, despite the fact that one of his own early orchestra pieces was conducted by his fellow musician, Simon Rattle.

    As Concertmaster for the London Symphony Orchestra, Arditti decided to leave the orchestra world in 1980 and transform his quartet “hobby” –  practised among friends – into a profession. Did he feel he was taking a risk? “No, I always thought it was my destiny to play the music of my time! Isn’t this why I was sent to this planet? I don’t believe in God, but I do believe in Destiny – in what can exist without anyone being there to control it.” He was inspired by the La Salle Quartet and gained confidence after an extended conversation with Iannis Xenakis. “When I told him certain passages of Mikka were unplayable because of their tempo, he looked at me for a long time – he never gave direct responses – and eventually said: ‘You’ll find a way!’ At the time, I had no idea just how important those words were, but they summed up my entire ambition.”

    The Quartet’s approach consists of ensuring that musicians and composers learn from one another: in other words, that they strive for the common extension of creativity and instrumental practice. “The Arditti Quartet has never taken lessons from anyone except composers. When Kurtág talks to you about his own music, what he says is important for playing all types of music.” Unhappy with something he himself had written in one of his compositions, Hans Werner Henze ended up conducting the musicians in the recording studio. What stimulates the quartet is the variety of sounds they need to adopt – like Xenakis’ dry and tremolo-free tone, Helmut Lachenmann’s “noise” techniques, or the different types of vibrato in a single work, as required by Brian Ferneyhough’s compositions.

    Krysztov Penderecki was the first composer to travel to prepare a concert with the Arditti Quartet, followed by György Ligeti (at the time, the Ardittis were the only group to perform his two quartets). The fruitful collaboration with Ferneyhough created a “snowball” effect, where composers would write for the quartet, and specifically request them (Carter, Dutilleux…): “We became the experts.” The Arditti Quartet eventually silenced all sceptics. After hesitating for a long time, Luigi Nono finally listened to them rehearse Fragmente, Stille…an Diotima, and had only one thing to say: “Bellissimo!” Their stubborn insistence that Stockhausen write them a piece eventually paid off, even if the result (i.e., Helikopter­streichquartett, with its four helicopters) turned out to be less convenient to perform on tour than planned…

    Despite the fact that their 1980s recordings occasionally sound a little al dente, they nevertheless express all the generosity of the Quartet’s commitment: their performances are always precise, and the music is immediately there, as if in 3D. “Their sound is striking in its precision and virtuosity, with a vast palette of colours,” as violist Ralf Ehlers once stated, just before joining the quartet himself.

    Mastering the capacity to perform hundreds of styles – the Arditti Quartet’s inspired “polyglotism” – demands that the musicians grasp them quickly. They cannot be greedy with their time when reading through the sheet music, and must sometimes even learn pieces by heart. Given all this, how is it possible to forge a common sound? “In some subtle and unconscious way, each of us eventually influences everyone else’s sound,” says violinist Ashot Sarkissjan. This process is constantly evolving, adds Ralf Ehlers, even though “Irvine’s sound remains the point of reference.” And they all boast of his exuberant energy, his warmth, his wisdom, and a playful mind that defies time.

    Martin Kaltenecker –
    from an interview with Irvine Arditti on 28 April 2017 in London

    Members of Arditti Quartet: Irvine Arditti (violin), Ashot Sarkissjan (violin), Ralf Ehlers (viola), Lucas Fels (cello)

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Clara Iannotta
Mark Andre
György Ligeti
Wolfgang Rihm

 

Musique

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord
      9 octobre
    En tressant un programme alternant les nouvelles œuvres de Clara Iannotta et de Mark Andre avec celles déjà historiques de Wolfgang Rihm et de György Ligeti, le Quatuor Arditti offre une variation sur les palettes expressives propres aux quatuors composés de nos jours.
    Clara Iannotta s’appuie sur une phrase d’un poème de Dorothy Molloy, dead wasps in the jam-jar. L’image de « guêpes mortes dans le pot de confiture » peut paraître pittoresque, mais elle doit engager un rapport autrement littéral à la pâte sonore. Pour la compositrice, une surface n’est rien de plus qu’un concours de réflexions. D’où l’envie d’y goûter.
    En dialogue permanent avec les possibilités expressives de la formation, les compositions pour quatuor se chargent méthodiquement d’en varier les ressorts : le quatuor que Wolfgang Rihm compose en 2011 (son treizième) amplifie l’individualisation des quatre lignes par une exploitation panoramique – une sérialisation ? – des modes de jeux et d’accentuation. Ce qui installe un climat de lutte, une force de nécessité dans la tension. Au point que la tentation d’épuiser les possibles peut prendre une charge spirituelle. Quand Mark Andre inscrit ses Miniaturen für Streichquartett (iv 13) dans son cycle de musique de chambre et soliste, « iv », il l’entend à la fois comme un acronyme d’i(ntro)version et d’i(ntra)véneuse, et cherche ici à faire une typologie des modes de disparition du son : ces « iv 13 » reviennent sur la disparition de Jésus de Nazareth pendant les épisodes Noli me tangere (Jean 20, 11-18) et Souper à Emmaüs (Luc 24, 13-35). Ce programme est complété par le Quatuor nº2 composé en 1968 par György Ligeti, où une plage pointilliste est suivie d’un temps pour les gestes violents, alors que les pizzicati font ensuite l’objet d’un mouvement dédié.

    Public aveugle et malvoyant : Concert naturellement accessible

    Wolfgang Rihm
    Quatuor nº13 
    Mark Andre
    Miniaturen für Streichquartett (iv 13) (création en France – commande du Quatuor Arditti et de Musica Viva Munich avec le concours de la Fondation Ernst von Siemens pour la musique, du Festival d’Automne à Paris et de ProQuartet--Centre européen de musique de chambre
    Clara Iannotta
    dead wasps in the jam-jar (iii) (création – commande du Festival d’Automne à Paris et de ProQuartet-Centre européen de musique de chambre, avec le concours de la Fondation Ernst von Siemens pour la musique)
    György Ligeti
    Quatuor nº2
    Quatuor Arditti

    Coréalisation C.I.C.T. Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de la Fondation Ernst von Siemens pour la musique // Avec le concours de la Sacem // Avec le soutien de l’Adami

    Dès octobre 1984, le Quatuor Arditti est invité à jouer au Festival d’Automne des œuvres de Iannis Xenakis et de György Ligeti. Depuis, Irvine Arditti et les membres de son quatuor auront joué pour le Festival les œuvres de Luigi Nono, Helmut Lachenmann, Brian Ferneyhough à plusieurs reprises, mais aussi celles de Luciano Berio, Pascal Dusapin, Toshio Hosokawa, Brice Pauset, Emmanuel Nunes, Harrison Birtwistle et bien d’autres. Ce Portrait en trois concerts, qui pour la première fois n’est pas consacré à un compositeur, est çoncu dans des configurations différentes comme un bouquet d’œuvres nouvelles ; en témoignage de notre admiration et de notre reconnaissance pour l’engagement et le talent des quatre musiciens dont le répertoire raconte l’histoire de la musique d’aujourd’hui.

    Le Quatuor Arditti, véritable mythe de la musique de notre temps, a été fondé en 1974 par Irvine Arditti. Au fil de cinq décennies, dix musiciens se sont relayés auprès de lui aux différents pupitres, restant entre deux et vingt-cinq ans. Même si le répertoire contemporain du quatuor n’implique plus de hiérarchie musicale – « toutes les parties sont solistes » –, Irvine Arditti aura porté au fil des années une formation dont la liste vertigineuse de créations et d’enregistrements se lit comme une véritable encyclopédie : « Sans vouloir paraître arrogant, on peut dire que l’histoire de la musique contemporaine aurait été différente si le Quatuor Arditti n’avait pas existé ». Véritable trésor international vivant, ses archives ont été intégrées aux collections de la Fondation Paul Sacher, qui microfilme et classe déjà l’ensemble des documents (enregistrements, parties annotées… sont ainsi accessibles aux chercheurs), témoignant d’une aventure exceptionnelle.

    Irvine Arditti est « tombé » dans le contemporain alors que tous ses camarades étaient fous des Beatles. À l’âge de treize ans, il entend à Oxford un concert de l’Orchestre National, en tournée avec des œuvres d’Olivier Messiaen et de Iannis Xenakis. Il écoute les stations de radio allemandes et s’attache particulièrement aux œuvres de Karlheinz Stockhausen, « plus accessible » que Boulez, et il participe même à une exécution de Hymnen avec aux claviers Jonathan Harvey, qui écrira le premier quatuor destiné aux Arditti en 1977. À quinze ans, lorsque Irvine Arditti va pour la première fois à l’étranger, c’est pour assister au festival de Darmstadt. Ses professeurs de violon ne vont pas au-delà de Bartók ; quant à la composition, étudiée en parallèle, il l’abandonne vite, se sentant trop influencé par Ligeti, encore que l’une de ses pièces d’orchestre ait été créée à l’époque par son camarade Simon Rattle.

    Premier violon du London Symphony Orchestra, Irvine Arditti décide de quitter le monde de l’orchestre en 1980 et de transformer ce « hobby » qu’est le quatuor, pratiqué entre amis, en profession. Était-ce un risque ? « Non – j’ai toujours pensé que c’était mon destin de jouer la musique de mon temps ! N’aurais-je pas été envoyé sur cette planète pour le faire ? Je ne crois pas en Dieu, certes, mais je crois au Destin, à ce qui peut exister sans qu’il n’y ait personne pour le contrôler ». Le modèle du Quatuor La Salle l’inspire, et il tire son assurance d’un dialogue prolongé avec Iannis Xenakis. « Lorsque je lui ai dit que certains passages de Mikka étaient injouables à cause du tempo, il m’a regardé longuement, car il ne donnait jamais de réponses directes, et a fini par dire : “Vous allez trouver le moyen !”. À l’époque, je ne savais pas combien ces paroles étaient importantes, mais elles résument toute mon ambition ».

    L’aventure consiste à faire en sorte que les musiciens et les compositeurs apprennent les uns des autres – l’extension commune de la créativité et de la pratique instrumentale. « Le Quatuor Arditti n’a jamais pris de leçons de personne, sauf des compositeurs. Quand Kurtág vous parle de sa musique, ce qu’il en dit est important pour jouer toutes les musiques ». Hans Werner Henze, insatisfait de ce qu’il avait lui-même écrit dans une de ses partitions, finit par diriger, en silence, les musiciens dans le studio d’enregistrement. Ce qui stimule les Arditti, c’est la variété des mondes sonores, la sonorité sèche et non vibrée de Xenakis, les techniques bruitistes de Helmut Lachenmann, les différents types de vibrato dans une même œuvre, comme les exige Brian Ferneyhough.

    Krysztov Penderecki fut le premier compositeur à se déplacer pour préparer un concert avec le Quatuor Arditti, puis ce fut le tour de György Ligeti, dont les Arditti étaient à l’époque les seuls à jouer les deux quatuors. La fructueuse collaboration avec Ferneyhough enclenche alors un effet « boule de neige » – on écrit pour le quatuor, on le demande (Carter, Dutilleux…) : « Nous étions devenus des experts ». Le Quatuor Arditti vainc toutes les réticences. Après avoir longtemps hésité, Luigi Nono vient les entendre dans une répétition de Fragmente, Stille…an Diotima et n’a qu’un seul mot : « Bellissimo ! ». L’insistance têtue auprès de Stockhausen portera ses fruits, même si le résultat, Helikopter­streichquartett, s’avère, avec ses quatre hélicoptères, moins commode à interpréter en tournée que prévu…

    Le son des enregistrements discographiques des années 1980 traduit toute la générosité de cet engagement – parfois un peu al dente, mais toujours précis, la musique étant immédiatement là comme en 3D. « Un son frappant de précision et de virtuosité, avec une large palette de couleurs », dit l’altiste Ralf Ehlers, juste avant de rejoindre lui-même la formation.

    Maîtriser l’interprétation de centaines de styles – tout ce « polyglottisme » inspiré du Quatuor  Arditti – exige de saisir vite, de ne pas être avare de son temps, de préparer la partition à la table, parfois même d’apprendre par cœur. Comment se forge malgré tout un son commun ? « D’une façon subtile, inconsciente, chacun finit par influencer le son des autres », dit le violoniste Ashot Sarkissjan. Ce processus évolue en permanence, ajoute Ralf Ehlers, même si « le son d’Irvine reste le repère ». Et tous de vanter son énergie exubérante, sa chaleur, sa sagesse, un esprit ludique qui défie le temps.

    Martin Kaltenecker – Propos recueillis le 28 avril 2017 à Londres