Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Gerard & Kelly

Timelining

Performance

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    Since 2003, the Los Angeles-based artists Gerard & Kelly have been working together to create installations and performance-based works which question the formation of the couple and the critical potential of intimacy. Honing in on the gaps between dance and language, Reusable Parts/Endless Love and Timelining examine the shapes that our most intimate relationships take on.
    With their influences in minimalist dance, institutional critique and queer theory, Brennan Gerard and Ryan Kelly develop work at the frontier between dance and contemporary art, and in which text, video and sculpture finds its place.
    First performed in New York in 2014, Timelining explores the manner in which two people who are close to each other are linked by common memories. Turning in a circle, two performers who share either family or romantic links evoke their interwoven lives, following a score which opens up the possibility of leaps in time and unexpected convergences. Whether it is the evocation of a first dance lesson, moving house or a bereavement, the performance brings out the emotion contained within these shared moments in time. All subjectivity appears to be perpetually in movement and formed by our relationships with others.

    Gerard & Kelly also present Reusable Parts / Endless Love at Centre national de la danse and State of at Palais de la Découverte.

    Devised by Gerard & Kelly
    With Matthieu Barbin et Sylvain Decloitre, Lou Forster et Lenio Kaklea, Fra Gilles et Jacqueline Samulon, Céline Kitsaïs Rotsen et Christine Rotsen

    With kind permission of Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York) // The work’s acquisition was made possible thanks to financial assistance from the Young Collectors Council and additional financial assistance from Josh Elkes, Sarah Stengel and Younghee Kim-Wait (2014). // First performed in 2014 at The Kitchen (New York)

    A Festival d’Automne à Paris production // A Mona Bismarck American Center (Paris) production ; FIAC // In association with Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris for the performance of Timelining // With support from FUSED: French-US Exchange in Dance, a New England Foundation for the Arts’ National Dance Project programme, from the cultural department of the Ambassade de France aux États-Unis, and FACE Foundation, with support from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Florence Gould Foundation, and the ministère de la Culture et de la Communication français // With support from the Fondation Fiminco, with support from CND, Centre national de la danse, accueil en résidence

     

     

    Gerard & Kelly, Timelining, 2014. Performance view, The Kitchen, New York, NY, April 2014. Pictured: Ted Henigson and Todd McQuade. Photo: Elisabeth Bernstein. Courtesy of the artists.
    Gerard & Kelly
    Gerard & Kelly, Timelining, 2014. Performance view, The Kitchen, New York, NY, April 2014. Pictured: Ted Henigson and Todd McQuade. Photo: Elisabeth Bernstein. Courtesy of the artists.
    DOWNLOADS
    Partners

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Gerard & Kelly

Timelining

Performance

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Centre Pompidou
      20 au 22 octobre

    Artistes basés à Los Angeles, Gerard & Kelly collaborent depuis 2003 pour créer des installations et des performances qui interrogent la formation du couple. Tissant des liens entre la danse, le langage et l’architecture, ils nous invitent à une réflexion sur nos relations les plus intimes.
    Influencés par la danse minimaliste, la critique institutionnelle ou la théorie queer, Brennan Gerard et Ryan Kelly développent un travail à la frontière de la danse et de l’art contemporain, qui intègre volontiers l’écriture, la vidéo ou la sculpture.
    Créée à New York en 2014, Timelining explore la manière dont deux proches sont liés par des souvenirs communs. Tournant en cercle, deux interprètes qui partagent des liens familiaux ou amoureux évoquent leurs vies entremêlées, suivant une partition qui favorise les sautes temporelles et les rapprochements imprévus. Que l’on évoque un premier cours de danse, un déménagement ou un deuil, la performance fait émerger l’émotion de ces moments de vie partagés. La subjectivité y apparaît perpétuellement en mouvement et formée par nos relations aux autres.

    Gerard & Kelly présentent également Reusable Parts / Endless Love au Centre national de la danse et State of au Palais de la Découverte.
     
    Rencontre avec Gerard & Kelly
    Les deux artistes seront en discussion avec la critique et historienne de l'art Elisabeth Lebovici afin d'échanger sur leurs oeuvres à l'occasion de leur présence à Paris pour le Festival.
    Mercredi 25 octobre à 19h00 - Mona Bismarck American Center
    Réservation obligatoire : rsvp@monabismarck.org



    Conception, Gerard & Kelly
    Avec Matthieu Barbin et Sylvain Decloitre, Lou Forster et Lenio Kaklea, Fra Gilles et Jacqueline Samulon, Céline Kitsaïs Rotsen et Christine Rotsen
    Collaboration artistique, Jonathan Drillet
    Styliste, Camille Assaf

    Avec l’aimable autorisation du Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York) // L’œuvre a été acquise grâce au financement de the Young Collectors Council et le financement complémentaire de Josh Elkes, Sarah Stengel et Younghee Kim-Wait (2014). // Performance créée en 2014 à The Kitchen (New York)

    Production Festival d’Automne à Paris // Coproduction Mona Bismarck American Center (Paris) ; FIAC // Coréalisation Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de FUSED: French-US Exchange in Dance, un programme de the New England Foundation for the Arts’ National Dance Project, du service culturel de l’Ambassade de France aux États-Unis, et de FACE Foundation, avec le soutien de the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Florence Gould Foundation, et du ministère de la Culture et de la Communication français, avec le soutien du CND, Centre national de la danse, accueil en résidence

    Gerard & Kelly, Timelining, 2014.The Kitchen, New York, NY, avril 2014. Ted Henigson et Todd McQuade. Photo: Elisabeth Bernstein. Courtesy of the artists.
    Gerard & Kelly
    Gerard & Kelly, Timelining, 2014.The Kitchen, New York, NY, avril 2014. Ted Henigson et Todd McQuade. Photo: Elisabeth Bernstein. Courtesy of the artists.
    Partenaires