Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Jan Martens

Rule of Three

Dance

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES
    • Théâtre de la Ville - Espace Pierre Cardin
      November 9 to November 15

    Inspired by three patterns conducive to the shortened format, Rule of Three unearths its own very particular path. Somewhere between concert-performance, short story collection and Facebook wall/YouTube channel, it navigates between contemporary dramas and everyday occurrence.
    With the atmosphere of a hardcore nightclub recreated live by NAH, replete with metal, avant-jazz, noise, punk and minimalist electro-industrial beats, the succession of danced tableaux has a surprise lurking at every corner. Short scenes are interspersed with iconic treats of a more languid and accentuated nature. The intricately writing of these scattered yet linked scenes gives us the sensation of being lost in the pages of a book. The layering of rhythm/light/music creates a variety of landscapes that might just as easily exude the sweet whiff of nonchalance as set bodies alight. Rebellious, fiery, and direct but always rigorous, mathematically so, Jan Martens teams up with the untamed, raw drums of NAH in this crystallization of a deliciously bewildering symbiosis. Dance and music interlock with each other in an organic way. Served up by two long-term collaborators of his, Steven Michel and Julien Josse, together with a new recruit, Courtney Robertson, this piece unleashes an untamed meditation on the contrasts of our era: numbness and explosion, the decided upon and the intuitive, heart and mind.

    Devised by Jan Martens
    With Steven Michel, Julien Josse, Courtney May Robertson
    Live music created and performed by NAH
    Writing et The Dog Hair from Histoire Réversible by Lydia Davis © 2014 from Lydia Davis © Christian Bourgois editeur, 2016
    Suddenly Afraid de Kafka aux Fourneaux © 2007 from Lydia Davis © Editions Phébus, Paris, 2009.
    Costumes, Valérie Hellebaut
    Lighting, Jan Fedinger
    Technical management, Michel Spang
    Dramaturgy, Greet Van Poeck
    International diffusion, A Propic / Line Rousseau et Marion Gauvent

    A production by GRIP // Co-produced by deSingel International Artcampus ; Le Gymnase CDC I Roubaix – Hauts de France ; Tanzhaus nrw (Düsseldorf) ; Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris // In association with Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // With support from STUK Arts Centre and Grand Theatre // With financial support from the Flemish government and Ville d’Anvers // With support from King’s Fountain // Partnership with France Culture // Thanks to Marc Vanrunxt and Anne-Lise Brevers // First performed on the 28th September 2017 at deSingel International Artcampus (Anvers)

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Jan Martens

Rule of Three

Danse

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Théâtre de la Ville - Espace Pierre Cardin
      9 au 15 novembre

    Inspirée par trois schèmes qui privilégient la forme courte, la création Rule of Three débusque un chemin tout particulier entre concert performé, recueil de nouvelles et mur Facebook ou canal YouTube, naviguant de drames contemporains en faits divers.
    Dans une ambiance de discothèque hardcore signée live par NAH, aux couleurs métal, avant-jazz, noise, punk ou électro-industrielle minimale, la succession de tableaux dansés promet une surprise à chaque virage. S’ensuivent scènes courtes ou ludiques et friandises iconiques, plus langoureuses et scandées. La dentelle finement écrite de ces scènes éparses mais liées donne la sensation de se perdre dans les pages d’un livre. D’épures en massifs de strates rythme/lumière/mouvement, la variété du paysage peut aussi bien exhaler un parfum de nonchalance chaotique que donner le diable au corps. Rebelle, fougueux, direct, mais rigoureux voire mathématique, le travail chorégraphique de Jan Martens rejoint le style indompté et brut des tambours de NAH pour se cristalliser en une confondante et délicieuse symbiose. Danse et musique, organiquement, s’imbriquent. Servie par deux collaborateurs de longue date, Steven Michel et Julien Josse, et la nouvelle recrue Courtney Robertson, cette œuvre déroule une méditation sauvage sur les contrastes de notre époque, l’engourdissement et l’explosion, le décidé et l’intuitif, le cœur et la raison.

    Concept, Jan Martens
    Avec Steven Michel, Julien Josse, Courtney May Robertson
    Musique live créée et interprétée par NAH
    Avec des histoires courtes de Lydia Davis:
    © Denise Shannon Literary Agency, Inc. Ecrire et Poils de chien de Histoire Réversible par Lydia Davis, trad. Anna Rabinovitch, Christian Bourgois editeur, 2016. Et soudain la peur de Kafka aux Fourneaux, par Lydia Davis, trad. Marie-Odile Fortier-Masek, Editions Phébus, Paris, 2009.
    Costumes, Valérie Hellebaut
    Lumières, Jan Fedinger
    Technique, Michel Spang
    Dramaturge, répétitrice, Greet Van Poeck
    Diffusion internationale, A Propic / Line Rousseau et Marion Gauvent

    Production GRIP // Coproduction deSingel International Artcampus ; Le Gymnase CDC I Roubaix – Hauts de France ; Tanzhaus nrw (Düsseldorf) ; Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Coréalisation Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de STUK Arts Centre et Grand Theatre // Avec le soutien financier du gouvernement flamand et de la ville d’Anvers // Avec le soutien de King’s Fountain // En partenariat avec France Culture // Remerciements à Marc Vanrunxt et Anne-Lise Brevers // Spectacle créé le 28 septembre 2017 à deSingel International Artcampus (Anvers)