Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Meg Stuart
Tim Etchells

Shown and Told

Performance

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    When the American choreographer Meg Stuart and the English author-director Tim Etchells enter into an onstage discussion, what we are left with is Shown and Told. This improvised, collage-like piece is fueled by the diverse practices of the two artists.
    One dances, the other talks and vice versa. Is that it? This is certainly not the first collaboration between Meg Stuart and Tim Etchells. This is not the first time we have seen the English theatre artist at work in pieces by the American choreographer, namely Alibi (2001) and It’s not funny (2006). However, what finally prompted them to improvise together was their joint participation in an exhibition-performance orchestrated by Boris Charmatz. In a sparse playing space, with no décor nor music, and without any other scenario than that of the here and now of their encounter, the author writes in response to the dancer’s movements, and the latter then improvises movements in response to his words. But nothing is to stop Tim Etchells from taking the occasional foray into movement and Meg Stuart from speaking out. Over time - the piece was first performed a year ago in Brussels - they have decided upon a number of different stages. However, with the experience in the field of performance that they carry with them, they have endeavoured to preserve the element of surprise and challenge. Alternating between Berlin and Brussels, the dancer Meg Stuart has developed her whole technique on the basis of improvisation. The same applies to Tim Etchells and his company Forced Entertainment, with their unflinching examination into the codes of onstage representation.

    Performed in English without subtitles

    Devised and performed by Meg Stuart and Tim Etchells
    Lightning conception, Gilles Roosen
    Costumes, Annabel Heyse

    A Damaged Goods (Brussels) production // In association with Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (Paris) ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris //First performed on the 30th November 2016 at Kaaistudio’s (Brussels)

    © Guy Kokken
     Meg Stuart<br>Tim Etchells
    © Guy Kokken
    DOWNLOADS
    Partners

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Meg Stuart
Tim Etchells

Shown and Told

Performance

    DATES ET LIEUX

    Quand la chorégraphe américaine Meg Stuart dialogue sur scène avec l’auteur-metteur en scène anglais Tim Etchells, cela donne Shown and Told. Un spectacle-collage nourri des pratiques très diverses de ces deux artistes et construit sur le fil de l’échange.
    L’une danse, l’autre parle et inversement ? Meg Stuart et Tim Etchells n’en sont pas à leur première collaboration. L’artiste de théâtre anglais avait déjà travaillé aux côtés de la chorégraphe américaine pour ses créations Alibi (2001) et It’s not funny (2006). Mais c’est leur participation commune à une exposition-performance orchestrée par Boris Charmatz qui les a convaincus de croiser leurs pratiques. Dans un espace dépouillé de tout décor ou musique, sans aucun autre scénario que celui de leur rencontre au présent, l’auteur écrit à partir des mouvements de la danseuse et celle-ci semble improviser des gestes sur ses mots, à moins qu’ils ne poursuivent ensemble la recherche d’un autre langage scénique. Il arrive aussi que Tim Etchells s’aventure dans le mouvement et que Meg Stuart prenne la parole. Adeptes de la performance l’un et l’autre, ils œuvrent à préserver la dimension de défi et de surprise propre à ce type de projets. Installée entre Berlin et Bruxelles, la danseuse Meg Stuart consacre une part importante de sa pratique à l’improvisation. Tim Etchells, lui, mène avec sa compagnie Forced Entertainment un questionnement sans relâche des codes de la représentation.

    Spectacle en anglais non surtitré

    Création et interprétation, Meg Stuart et Tim Etchells
    Conception lumières, Gilles Roosen
    Costumes, Annabel Heyse

    Production Damaged Goods (Bruxelles) // Coréalisation Les Spectacles vivants – Centre Pompidou (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Spectacle créé le 30 novembre 2016 au Kaai­­studio’s (Bruxelles)

    © Guy Kokken
     Meg Stuart<br>Tim Etchells
    © Guy Kokken
    Partenaires