Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Milo Rau

Compassion. L’histoire de la mitraillette

Theatre

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES
    • La Villette
      November 7 to November 11

    In his hard-hitting shows, the Swiss director Milo Rau brings to the stage the violence of the world. Through the destinies of two women, both of whom have lived through the genocides in Africa, one a witness and the other a victim, he highlights the contradictions of our globalized societies. Can compassion have frontiers?
    From the Ceaucescu trial to the “Dutroux case”, the burning issues that surround the violence of events of today’s world are at the heart of Milo Rau’s “shows”, and his International Institute of Political Murder, the production company he founded in 2007. Today, the plight of refugees is putting to the test the cohesion of our societies and their aptitude to show empathy. In Compassion. L’histoire de la mitraillette, he confronts the destinies of two women: the Swiss-born Ursina Lardi, an actress from Berlin’s Schaubühne troupe, in the role of a former member of an NGO who witnessed the massacres in Rwanda and Congo; and Consolate Sipérius, from Burundi, who plays herself, that of an actress who survived the genocide, and then came to Belgium later in life. Shifting between immediacy and distance, documentary theatre and mise en abyme, this double monologue, based on interviews with ONG personnel, priests and victims of the war themselves, unfurls in the setting of ransacked office, strewn with debris. Is this, perhaps, a way of figuring our upside-down societies in all their duplicity, passivity and pseudo-humanity? “Our economy is a globalized one, and yet our compassion stops at the frontier with Greece. The death of a child at the gateway to Europe induces a wave of sympathy and yet the deaths of thousands of people in central Africa goes unnoticed”, even though neo-colonial Europe, continues Milo Rau, “starts from central Africa”. According to Rau, a former student of Pierre Bourdieu, it would seem that the sole aim of theatre is to open our eyes to the spectacle of the misery in the world.

    Written and directed by Milo Rau
    With Ursina Lardi and Consolate Sipérius
    Set and costume design, Anton Lukas
    Video and sound, Marc Stephan
    Dramaturgy, Florian Borchmeyer
    Dramaturgical collaboration, Mirjam Knapp, and Stefan Bläske
    Lighting, Erich Schneider

    A Schaubühne Berlin production // In association with La Villette (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // In cooperation with the PROSPERO network of European theatre : Théâtre National de Bretagne – Centre Européen Théâtral and Chorégraphique (Rennes) / Théâtre de Liège / Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione / Schaubühne Berlin / Göteborgs Stadsteatern / Croatian National Theatre, World Theatre Festival Zagreb / Athens & Epidaurus Festival // EIn partnership with France Culture // First performed on 16th January 2016 at the Schaubühne Berlin

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Milo Rau

Compassion. L’histoire de la mitraillette

Théâtre

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • La Villette
      7 au 11 novembre

    Le Suisse Milo Rau convoque la violence du monde sur les plateaux dans des spectacles « coups de poing ». À travers les destinées de deux femmes, l’une témoin ou l’autre victime des génocides africains, il pointe les contradictions de nos sociétés mondialisées. La compassion peut-elle avoir des frontières ?
    Du procès des Ceaucescu à l’« affaire Dutroux », le réel dans son actualité la plus brûlante et la plus violente est au cœur des « spectacles » de Milo Rau et de son International Institute of Political Murder, la société de production qu’il a fondée en 2007. Aujourd’hui, alors que le destin des réfugiés met au défi la cohésion de nos sociétés et leur aptitude à l’empathie, Milo Rau confronte dans Compassion. L’histoire de la mitraillette les destins de deux femmes : la Suisse Ursina Lardi (comédienne de la troupe de la Schaubühne de Berlin) interprète une ancienne membre d’ONG témoin des massacres du Rwanda et du Congo ; la Burundaise Consolate Sipérius, elle, joue pour ainsi dire son propre rôle : celui d’une comédienne survivante du génocide, arrivée tard en Belgique. Entre immédiateté et distanciation, théâtre documentaire et mise en abyme, ce double monologue, nourri d’interviews de membres d’ONG, de prêtres et de victimes de la guerre, se déroule dans le décor d’un bureau jonché de débris, comme mis à sac : manière de figurer nos sociétés sans dessus dessous dans toute leur duplicité, leur passivité et leur pseudo humanité ? « Alors que notre économie est mondialisée, notre compassion s’arrête aux frontières de la Grèce. La mort d’un enfant aux portes de l’Europe provoque une vague d’empathie mais des milliers de morts en Afrique centrale passent inaperçus », quand bien même l’Europe néocoloniale, poursuit Milo Rau, « commence dès l’Afrique centrale ». Le théâtre selon Rau, qui fut l’élève de Pierre Bourdieu, semble n’avoir d’autre but que de nous secouer de notre torpeur face au spectacle de la misère du monde.

    Conception, texte et mise en scène, Milo Rau
    Avec Ursina Lardi et Consolate Sipérius
    Scénographie et costumes, Anton Lukas
    Vidéo et son, Marc Stephan
    Dramaturgie, Florian Borchmeyer
    Collaboration dramaturgie, Mirjam Knapp, Stefan Bläske
    Lumières, Erich Schneider

    Production Schaubühne Berlin // Coréalisation La Villette (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // En coopération avec le réseau de théâtre européen PROSPERO : Théâtre National de Bretagne – Centre Européen Théâtral et Chorégraphique (Rennes) / Théâtre de Liège / Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione / Schaubühne Berlin / Göteborgs Stadsteatern / Croatian National Theatre, World Theatre Festival Zagreb / Athens & Epidaurus Festival // En partenariat avec France Culture // Spectacle créé le 16 janvier 2016 à la Schaubühne Berlin