Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Vincent Macaigne

En manque

Theatre

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    An extremely wealthy female art collector opens a foundation containing every single piece of Western art. This is the starting point which Vincent Macaigne uses to confront his childhood dreams with his own contradictions as an adult. Torn between rebellion and resignation, this show looks at a certain idea of art.
    Today, repetition, in the both the Kierkegaardian sense of the word and also in Beckett’s “fail better” dictum, would appear to be at the heart of Vincent Macaigne’s thoughts on theatre. In 2016, prior to Je suis un pays, there was En manque. As a show, it refers back to one of the first texts he set about staging at the start of his career. Having gathered together all the works of Western art, the immensely wealthy and thoroughly depressed Madame Burini decides to give mere mortals the chance to enjoy them. She comes down from her mountain, and promptly opens a foundation by the side of a lake... in which the works on display are hidden behind Caravaggio reproductions! In reality, this starting “pitch” is the continuously moving matter which the director uses as the basis to reactivate the stage every evening. With his customary brand of grinding humour and exuberance, he confronts his own dreams, and those of our own, with reality. It leads to a celebration of the death of a certain idea of art, of a distant desire to change the world, and of the fanciful idea of an accord between those “above” and those “below”. En manque, and the delightfully contagious difficulty of living it brings with it, resembles a sort of joyful apocalypse, of the tribal, gutsy, and hallucinatory kind - providing the artist’s self image in the way he looks upon the world. “The purpose of art is to hear the world”, as he once said. An idealist and nihilist in equal measure, Macaigne’s trademark theatre is justly provocative.

    Written, directed and set design by Vincent Macaigne
    With Thibaut Evrard, Liza Lapert, Clara Lama-Schmit, Sofia Teillet, and the extras and their children
    Set design collaboration, Julien Peissel
    Lighting, Jean Huleu
    Props, Lucie Basclet
    Sound, Jonathan Cesaroni
    Voices, Matthieu Jaccard
    Set construction, Ateliers du Théâtre de Vidy
    Stage management, Sébastien Mathé
    Trainee director, Salou Sadras
    Administration Cie Friche 22.66, AlterMachine, Camille Hakim Hashemi, and Elisbeth Le Coënt

    Produced by Théâtre de Vidy, Lausanne and Compagnie Friche 22.66 // Co-produced by TANDEM Scène nationale (Arras-Douai) ; Holland Festival (Amsterdam) ; Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; and La Villette (Paris) // In association with La Villette (Paris) ; and Théâtre de la Ville-Paris // With the artistic participation of Jeune théâtre national // First performed on the 13th December 2016 at Théâtre de Vidy (Lausanne)
    In partnership with France Inter

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Vincent Macaigne

En manque

Théâtre

    DATES ET LIEUX

    Une richissime collectionneuse ouvre une fondation qui contient toutes les œuvres de l’art occidental... Tel est le point de départ à partir duquel Vincent Macaigne confronte ses rêves de jeunesse et ses contradictions d’adulte, entre rébellion et résignation. Au nom d’une certaine idée de l’art.
    La reprise, au sens de Kierkegaard, mais aussi de Beckett (« rater mieux »), semble aujourd’hui au cœur de la réflexion théâtrale de Vincent Macaigne. Avant Je suis un pays, il y avait eu, en 2016, En manque. Un spectacle qui renvoie à l’un des premiers textes qu’il entreprit de monter au début de son parcours. Madame Burini, femme dépressive bien qu’immensément fortunée, ayant amassé toutes les œuvres de l’art occidental, décide d’en faire profiter le commun des mortels, et descend de sa montagne pour ouvrir au bord d’un lac une fondation... où les œuvres sont présentées cachées derrière des reproductions du Caravage ! Ce « pitch » de départ est en réalité la matière sans cesse mouvante à partir de laquelle le metteur en scène réactive chaque soir le plateau. Avec la grâce grinçante et exubérante qu’on lui connaît, il confronte ses rêves et les nôtres à la réalité, célébrant le deuil d’une certaine idée de l’art, d’une lointaine envie de changer le monde – et du désir chimérique d’accorder celui d’« en haut » et celui d’« en bas ». Joyeusement hanté par la difficulté de vivre, En manque est une apocalypse tribale, tripale et trippante, à travers laquelle l’artiste se regarde en face comme il toise le monde. « L’art sert à entendre le monde », disait-il un jour. Idéaliste autant que nihiliste, le théâtre selon Macaigne nous provoque au sens salutaire du terme.

    Sur présentation de votre billet du spectacle, accédez gratuitement le jour même à l’exposition Forsythe x Ikeda dans la grande Halle de la Villette.
    Dernier accès à 19h30.
    Plus d’information : Exposition William Forsythe x Ryoji Ikeda

    Texte, mise en scène et scénographie, Vincent Macaigne
    Avec Thibaut Evrard, Clara Lama-Schmit, Liza Lapert, Sofia Teillet, des figurants et des enfants
    Collaboration scénographie, Julien Peissel
    Lumières, Jean Huleu
    Accessoires, Lucie Basclet
    Son, Jonathan Cesaroni
    Voix, Matthieu Jaccard
    Construction du décor, Ateliers du Théâtre de Vidy
    Régie générale, Sébastien Mathé
    Assistants mise en scène, Salou Sadras
    Administration Compagnie Friche 22.66 : AlterMachine, Camille Hakim Hashemi, Elisabeth Le Coënt

    Production ; Théâtre de Vidy, Lausanne ; Compagnie Friche 22.66 // Coproduction TANDEM scène nationale (Arras-Douai) ; Holland Festival (Amsterdam) ; Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; La Villette (Paris) // Coréalisation La Villette (Paris) ; Théâtre de la Ville-Paris // Avec la participation artistique du Jeune théâtre national // La Compagnie Friche 22.66 est soutenue par la DGCA Ministère de la Culture, au titre de Compagnie nationale // Spectacle créé le 13 décembre 2016 au Théâtre de Vidy, Lausanne
    Spectacle présenté en partenariat avec France Inter