Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

You are visiting the page of a show featured in the 2011 edition. Find all the shows from this edition in our archives

Pascal Dusapin / John Cage / Igor Stravinsky

Requiem Canticles / Seventy-Four for orchestra /La Melancholia


    • Cité de la musique – Philharmonie de Paris
      November 12

    Stravinsky’s Requiem Canticles, a late composition with striking sounds, is in marked contrast with John Cage’s final work, Seventy-Four, with fourteen sounds, leaving the performer free to decide, to choose duration and microtones. Melancholia by Pascal Dusapin is a return to Europe, with literary and philosophical allusions, embracing the audience in sound. Three approaches to time and three visions of eternity or vanity.

    Igor Stravinsky
    Requiem Canticles for contralto, bass, chorus and orchestra
    John Cage
    Seventy-Four for orchestra
    Pascal Dusapin
    La Melancholia, operatorio

    Anu Komsi, soprano
    Helena Rasker, contralto
    Tim Mead, countertenor
    Alexander Yudenkov, tenor
    Rudolf Rosen, baritone
    SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart
    Chorus Direction,   Nicholas Kok
    Symphony Orchestra  of SWR Baden-Baden and Freiburg
    Direction, Jonathan Stockhammer

    Coproduction Cité de la musique ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
    In collaboration with Südwestrundfunk
    With the assistance of the Sacem
    With the support of
    Bernard Monnier, Judith Pisar
    France Musique records this concert