Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Harun Farocki
Christian Petzold

Retrospectives

Exhibition Harun Farocki

Cinema

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    From the 1960’s onwards, Harun Farocki embarked on a vast examination of the century through its images. Since the year 2000, Christian Petzold, with whom he collaborated, has made a name for himself as one of Germany’s landmark film-makers. Combined with Harun Farocki’s installations, their respective retrospectives reveal the spectres of today’s world.
    When he passed away in 2014, Harun Farocki left behind him a substantial legacy of work: over a hundred films, almost thirty installations and numerous writings. Together they constitute a definitive history of cinema and the media. His films are often built up using existing images, which he then uses to analyze the domaines of politics, war, and their manifestations in society. His installations have the effect of unfurling before us his thoughts on the media and its workings. Eminently critical, he is made committed to restoring readability to images which are all too often instrumentalized for alternative means. This accounts for the revelatory effect of his work. The retrospective and the exhibition presented at the Centre Pompidou form part of a tribute to him   starting in Berlin, before moving on to Paris and Marseilles (Friche la Belle de Mai).
    Christian Petzold wrote films with his one-time teacher, Harun Farocki. From Pilotes (1995) to Barbara (2012) and Phoenix (2015), the subject of his fictions is similar to the essays and documentaries of his elder, that of crises and mutations. Shifting between the past and present, the retrospective of his work, which puts him at the forefront of the rebirth of German cinema, his films delve deep into the dark ghosts of contemporary Europe.

    This event is organized by the Cinémas du Département du développement culturel du Centre Pompidou with the Festival d’Automne à Paris, in partnership with Goethe-Institut and BPI-Cinémathèque du documentaire, Harun Farocki GbR and German Films, Nova and Trois Couleurs. Thanks to  Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac.

    A detailed programme will be available in November at www.centrepompidou.fr and www.festival-automne.com

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Harun Farocki
Christian Petzold

Rétrospectives

Exposition Harun Farocki

Cinéma

    DATES ET LIEUX

    Harun Farocki a entrepris, dès les années 1960, une vaste relecture du siècle à travers ses images. Christian Petzold, avec lequel il a collaboré, s’est imposé depuis 2000 comme l’un des cinéastes-phares allemands. Leurs rétrospectives respectives et les installations de Harun Farocki révèlent les spectres du monde actuel.
    Harun Farocki, disparu en 2014, lègue une œuvre considérable : plus de cent films, près de trente installations et de nombreux écrits, qui marquent définitivement l’histoire du cinéma et des médias. Ses films sont souvent construits à partir d’images préexistantes, qu’il parcourt et interroge pour analyser les ressorts de l’économie, la politique, la guerre, et leurs manifestations dans la société. Ses installations déploient sa réflexion sur les médias et les dispositifs. Éminemment critique, attachée à rendre aux images une lisibilité menacée par leur instrumentalisation, son œuvre agit comme un révélateur. La rétrospective et l’exposition présentées au Centre Pompidou s’inscrivent dans le cadre d’un hommage qui, après Berlin, passe par Paris et Marseille (Friche la Belle de Mai).
    Christian Petzold a écrit ses films avec Harun Farocki, qui fut son enseignant. De Pilotes (1995) à Barbara (2012) et Phoenix (2015), ses fictions s’intéressent, comme les essais et documentaires de son aîné, aux crises et mutations. La rétrospective de son œuvre, qui a fait de lui le chef de file d’un cinéma allemand en plein renouveau, sonde, entre passé et présent, les hantises de l’Europe contemporaine.

    En présence de Christian Petzold (23 au 29 novembre), Antje Ehmann (23 novembre) et Nina Hoss (29 novembre)

    Cette manifestation est organisée par les Cinémas du Département du développement culturel du Centre Pompidou avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, avec le soutien du Goethe-Institut et de la BPI-Cinémathèque du documentaire, en partenariat avec Harun Farocki GbR et German Films, et en partenariat média avec Nova et Trois Couleurs. Remerciements à la Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac.
    Programme détaillé début novembre sur www.centrepompidou.fr et sur notre site