Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Salvatore Sciarrino

Works from the 1970s and 1980s

Music

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    Salvatore Sciarrino has revived fascinating moments in the history of Sicily, going far into the distant past, recalling civilizations that marked the land. His music, taut and dramatic, adopts the image of volcanic activity, but from afar, muted and subtle.
    The concert encompasses a decade in the work of Salvatore Sciarrino, from Siciliano (1975) to Lo spazio inverso (1985). In the middle is Fauno che fischia a un merlo (1980), showing the composer’s mind filled with divinities born in the darkest corners of human consciousness, haunting the wild, and creating a sense of uneasiness. Here are creatures, composite creatures, that are both sources of wonderment and symbols of immortality.
    The monster is hybrid in style, and hybrid in the animal world, being part faun part blackbird, finding resolution in aesthetics, in natural creation, extraordinary or ordinary, in a poetic manifestation. The creation of an original work is a way of grafting, or maintaining the confusion of physical bodies and sexual identities, as in the case of the hermaphrodite.
    Aspern (1978), in line with Sciarrino’s operas before Lohengrin (1982), combines two main sources; here it is a novella by Henry James, The Aspern Papers, and excerpts from texts by Lorenzo da Ponte who wrote the libretti for three operas by Mozart, himself a reference for the genre used here, i.e. Singspiel (literally “sing play”). The opera is set in a ghostly Venice, and has quotations from the 18th century, all shaped by Salvatore Sciarrino to produce a suite with different forms (arietta, aria, canzonetta, and traditional song) in music both striking and distinguished.

    Salvatore Sciarrino
    Fauno che fischia a un merlo, for flute and harp
    Siciliano, for flute and harpsichord
    Lo spazio inverso, for flute, clarinet, celesta, violin and cello
    Aspern Suite, for soprano, two flutes, percussion, harpsichord, viola and cello

    Ensemble L’Instant Donné
    Amandine Trenc
    , soprano

     

    Coproduction: Théâtre de la Ville-Paris; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Concert recorded by France Musique

    Salvatore Sciarrino © Luca Carrà
    Salvatore Sciarrino
    Salvatore Sciarrino © Luca Carrà
    Partners

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Salvatore Sciarrino

Œuvres des années 1970 et 1980

Musique

    DATES ET LIEUX

    Salvatore Sciarrino évoque les fascinants croisements de la civilisation sicilienne, lointains souvenirs de cultures déposées par les siècles sur la terre d’Empédocle. Et sa musique, tendue, dramatique, emprunte l’image d’une activité volcanique, observée de loin, assourdie, subtile.
    Ce concert propose de retracer une décennie de l’œuvre de Salvatore Sciarrino, entre Siciliano (1975), une sicilienne dite « chamboulée », et Lo spazio inverso (1985), avec en son centre Fauno che fischia a un merlo (1980). L’imaginaire du compositeur regorge alors de divinités issues des recoins les plus sombres de notre esprit, qui hantent les lieux sauvages et inquiètent. Ces créatures, composites, sont toujours porteuses de merveilleux, symboles d’immortalité.
    Le monstre dénote une hybridation stylistique, où le zoologique, entre faune et merle, se résout dans l’esthétique, et la création naturelle, fabuleuse ou non, dans une poétique. Créer, c’est greffer – ou maintenir la confusion des corps et des sexes, à l’exemple de l’hermaphrodite.
    Aussi Aspern (1978), comme les opéras de Salvatore Sciarrino d’avant Lohengrin (1982), joint-il deux sources principales : une nouvelle de Henry James, Les Papiers d’Aspern, et des fragments de Lorenzo da Ponte, le librettiste de Mozart, auquel renvoie d’ailleurs le genre de l’œuvre, un Singspiel, littéralement « jeu chanté ». De cet opéra, qui se déroule dans une Venise spectrale, traversée de citations du XVIIIe siècle, Salvatore Sciarrino a tiré une suite, avec arietta, arie, canzonetta, chanson rituelle et mouvements d’une musique aux saisissants raffinements.

    Public aveugle et malvoyant : Concert naturellement accessible

    Salvatore Sciarrino
    Fauno che fischia a un merlo, pour flûte et harpe
    Siciliano, pour flûte et clavecin ;
    Lo spazio inverso, pour flûte, clarinette, célesta, violon, violoncelle
    Aspern Suite, pour soprano, deux flûtes, percussions, clavecin, alto, violoncelle

    Ensemble L’Instant Donné
    Amandine Trenc
    , soprano

    Coréalisation Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // France Musique enregistre ce concert.

    Salvatore Sciarrino © Luca Carrà
    Salvatore Sciarrino
    Salvatore Sciarrino © Luca Carrà
    Partenaires