Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Suzuki Matsuo

Go-on

ou le son de la déraison

Theatre

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    Parisian audiences were given a taste of Matsuo Suzuki’s wry, grating universe with Journal d’une machine (Machine Diary) in 2013. This time the Japanese author and director returns to France with one of his landmark pieces, Go-on. This humorous work sees its characters setting off in search of answers to existential questions, along a path filled with pitfalls.
    At the very instant when a women finds an answer in response to the question of whether God exists or not, she is run over by a car. In order that the female driver takes responsibility for her act, the victim’s husband decides to abduct her. This is how Go-on begins, a show that Matsuo Suzuki, an iconic figure in Japan for the last twenty years, concocted for his troop of actors in 2002. Their impressive physical presence is characterized by a shift away from naturalistic acting. Instead, it evokes the high-voltage language of mangas and burlesque films. It is this which gives Go-on its rhythm and visual power. The language used is raw and zany, it’s brand of humour very dark indeed and the whole lot is carried off, as is often the case in the work of this company, by protagonists on the fringes of society. For the occasion, Matsuo Suzuki himself will be taking to the stage alongside his actors, in the role of the husband. With a solid reputation as a film-maker (Otakus in Love, and Bienvenue dans la Quiet Room amongst others), this jack-of-all-trades artist has also enlisted the services of a contemporary choreographer in order to enrich the onstage movements. Go-on tackles essentially metaphysical questions, but not without considerable doses of irony and tenderness: “I hope audiences will see just how ugly these characters are, but also, at times, something noble about them.”

    Written, directed and performed by Suzuki Matsuo
    With Kami Hiraiwa, Shoko Ikezu, Shima Ise, Miwako Shishido, Tom Miyazaki, Sarutoki Minagawa, Seminosuke Murasugi and Elizabeth Marry (dancer and props maker)
    Stage management, Yukio Sugata
    Stage design, Tomoyuki Ikeda
    Lighting, Satoshi Sato
    Sound, Akame Fujita
    Choreography, Masako Yasumoto
    Costumes, Kyoko Toda
    Make-up, Kazumi Owada
    Video, Taiki Ueda
    Assistant directors, Koui Ohori, and Ryoko Sato
    Production manager, Tomoko Hoj
    Subtitles, Miyako Slocombe, and Aya Soejima

     Producer, Makiko Nagasaka // Co-produced by Otona Keikaku ; Mochiron Inc. // In association with Maison de la culture du Japon à Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // With support from Onda  and  the Japan Foundation // First performed on the 9th October 2002 at Tokyo Sôgetsu Hall

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Suzuki Matsuo

Go-on

ou le son de la déraison

Théâtre

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Maison de la culture du japon à Paris
      5 au 7 octobre

    Le public parisien avait découvert l’univers grinçant de Suzuki Matsuo à travers Journal d’une machine en 2013. Le metteur en scène et auteur japonais revient en France avec l’une de ses pièces-phares, Go-on ou le son de la déraison, qui conduit avec humour ses personnages sur un chemin semé d’embûches et d’interrogations existentielles.
    Au moment où une femme trouve une réponse à la question de l’existence de Dieu, elle est renversée par une voiture. Pour que la conductrice prenne ses responsabilités, le mari de la victime décide de la séquestrer. Ainsi débute Go-on, spectacle imaginé en 2002 par Suzuki Matsuo, véritable icône au Japon depuis vingt ans, pour sa troupe d’acteurs. Leur présence physique impressionnante, qui s’éloigne du naturalisme pour évoquer le langage énergique des mangas ou des films burlesques, donne à Go-on son rythme et sa force visuelle. La langue y est crue et loufoque, l’humour foncièrement noir et le tout porté par des protagonistes en marge de la société, comme souvent dans le travail de la compagnie. Pour l’occasion, Suzuki Matsuo est sur scène aux côtés de ses comédiens, dans le rôle du mari. Également reconnu comme cinéaste (Otakus in Love, Bienvenue dans la Quiet Room…), ce touche-à-tout a fait appel à une chorégraphe contemporaine pour compléter sa gestuelle. Si Go-on s’attaque à des questions métaphysiques, il y répond avec une bonne dose d’ironie et de tendresse : « J’espère que le public verra la laideur de ces personnages, mais aussi, parfois, une lueur de noblesse ».

     
    Public sourd et malentendant : ce spectacle est surtitré en français.
    Rencontre avec l'équipe artistique le 6 octobre à l'issue de la représentation.

    Texte, mise en scène, Suzuki Matsuo
    Avec Suzuki Matsuo, Kami Hiraiwa, Shoko Ikezu, Shima Ise, Tom Miyazaki, Sarutoki Minagawa, Seminosuke Murasugi, Miwako Shishido et Elizabeth Marry (danseuse-accessoiriste)
    Scénographie, Tomoyuki Ikeda
    Lumières, Satoshi Sato
    Son, Akame Fujita
    Chorégraphie, Masako Yasumoto
    Costumes, Kyoko Toda
    Maquillage, Kazumi Owada
    Vidéo, Taiki Ueda
    Assistants mise en scène, Koui Ohori, Ryoko Sato

    Productrice Makiko Nagasaka // Coproduction Otona Keikaku ; Mochiron Inc. // Coréalisation Maison de la culture du Japon à Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de l’Onda et de la Japan Foundation // Spectacle créé le 9 octobre 2002 au Tokyo Sôgetsu Hall