Tomás Saraceno JAMMING WITH SPIDERS

[Visual Arts & Performance]

“ON AIR”, Tomás Saraceno’s carte blanche at the Palais de Tokyo, plunges the visitor into a large-scale “cosmic jam session”, intermixing the sounds and resonances of the universe. Punctuating the exhibition, three “JAMMING WITH SPIDERS” will be offering visitors a unique listening experience by creating a dialogue between musicians and spiders.

Tomás Saraceno will be occupying the different spaces of the Palais de Tokyo with works that make us more aware of our interconnections and interdependencies with an infinity of other scales. In this aim, the exhibition space will be turned into a membrane in which a random, evolving choreography will unfurl. Within this choreography, the multiplicity, richness, and complexity of the different agents that make up the universe, visible and invisible, human and non-human, perceptible and non-perceptible for our organism, become the innumerable voices of the concert of the living.
Tomás Saraceno celebrates the polyphony of the cosmos and seeks to bring about an encounter between man and animal through a series of three “inter-species jam sessions”, forming a core part of his work. The musicians are invited to play with the spiders, and to find the frequencies and modes of vibration which give rise to a dialogue with these other living beings. Intended as highlights of the project, bringing together members of the public and musicians in a process of listening, playing and mutual harmonisation, these concerts stem from all that is random or improvised, and from our own resilience.

Programme:
Alvin Lucier, October 26, 21h
Moon bounce concert
Alvin Lucier, historical gure of experimental music from the 1960’s until today imagines an unreleased work for ON AIR during which his heartbeat is picked up by a special sensor, routed through the silk strings of a Qin, ancient Chinese stringed instrument, and sent to the moon. In about two-and-a-half seconds each heartbeat will bounce back to Earth. The sound of the heartbeats will change according to re ection points from the Moon’s surface.
Evan Zyporin, November 23, 19h30
The spider’s canvas
Evan Ziporyn, composer and director of the Center for Art, Science and Technology of MIT, imagines a new piece for ON AIR, in which an ensemble plays together in a spider web.
“We play in the canvas of the spider, using soni cation of 3D models and 2D images in the harmonic language of Just Intonation. Rather than playing with the spider herself, we are using her webs as the basis of our music, reading her scores, using her geometries as the foundation for our vibrations, she provides us a soundscape through which we can wander”. A collaboration between MIT Center for Art, Science & Technology (CAST) and Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering (Professor Markus Buehler, director).
With, Christine Southworth, bagpipes, guitars & eBows, visuals/ projections. Isabelle Su, interactive environment design and real- time data processing

Eliane Radigue, December 14, 19h30
OCCAM OCEAN
Eliane Radigue proposes a sequel of her Occam Ocean series, a meditative sound exploration that she started in 2011. Using only low frequencies instruments or voices tonalities - the ones that spiders are likely to be hearing - the musicians perform solos, duets and quartets, playing very long and continuous notes with the hope to trigger their reactions and play live with them.
OCCAM RIVER XXII - new piece | Éliane Radigue and Carol Robinson
Carol Robinson, clarinette basse and Bertrand Gauguet, saxophon
OCCAM RIVER XIX (2018) | Éliane Radigue
Yannick Guédon, baryton and Julia Eckhardt, alto
OCCAM DELTA XVIII - new piece | Éliane Radigue
Yannick Guédon, baryton, Carol Robinson, clarinette basse, Bertrand Gauguet, saxophone, Julia Eckhardt, alto and Holocnemus pluchei

Tomás Saraceno JAMMING WITH SPIDERS

[Arts Plastiques & performance]

La carte blanche de Tomás Saraceno, « ON AIR », au Palais de Tokyo, plonge le visiteur dans une grande « jam session cosmique », où s’entremêlent les sons et résonances de l’univers. Ponctuant l’exposition, trois soirées « JAMMING WITH SPIDERS » proposent une expérience unique d’écoute en faisant dialoguer musiciens et araignées.

À l’occasion de l’exposition ON AIR au Palais de Tokyo, l’artiste Tomás Saraceno propose une « jam session cosmique », incorporant trois événements exceptionnels ponctués par des sessions d’improvisation avec des araignées et d’autres agents non-humains. Chaque concert est un moment d’expérimentations, ouvrant de nouveaux canaux de communication avec les araignées, le cosmos et au-delà, et au cours desquelles des figures majeures de la musique expérimentale rassemblent le public uni dans un processus partagé d’écoute.
Cet exercice sonore d’harmonisation inter-espèces résulte de longues années de recherches entreprises par le Studio Saraceno accompagné de spécialistes en bioacoustique et en comportement animal. Les vibrations envoyées et reçues par les araignées à travers leurs toiles sont inaudibles pour l’oreille humaine. Nouvelle contribution pour la bioacoustique, le Studio Saraceno a développé des appareils permettant d’enregistrer ces vibrations avec une grande précision et de participer à ce dialogue imperceptible : écouter et répondre en imitant des vibrations provenant de la toile, ouvrant ainsi à une communication interspécifique.
ON AIR est imaginée comme un écosystème en devenir où se déroule chaque jour une chorégraphie et une polyphonie renouvelée entre les univers humains et non-humains, grâce à des œuvres permettant de révéler des rythmes et trajectoires communs, fragiles et éphémères entre ces mondes.
––––––
Programme  :
ALVIN LUCIER
Moon Bounce Concert
26 octobre 2018, 21h
Alvin Lucier, figure historique de la musique expérimentale de la fin des années 1960 à aujourd’hui, imagine une performance lors de laquelle son pouls est prélevé en direct par un capteur, acheminé par les cordes en soie d’un qin – cithare à sept cordes – et envoyé à la lune. En près de deux secondes et demie, chaque battement de cœur est renvoyé à la Terre. Leur son change en fonction des points de réflexion atteints à la surface de la lune.
Avec Alvin Lucier
EVAN ZIPORYN
The Spider’s Canvas
23 novembre 2018, 19h30
Evan Ziporyn, compositeur et directeur du Centre d’art, de Science et de Technologie du MIT, place les interprètes au cœur de la toile de l’araignée. « Plutôt que de jouer avec l’araignée elle-même, nous utilisons ses toiles comme base de notre musique, utilisant ses géométries comme fondement de nos vibrations. »
Avec Christine Southworth (cornemuse, guitare et projections eBows) et Isabelle Su (design immersif interactif et traitement des données en temps réel)
Une collaboration entre le Centre d’art, de Science et de Technologie du MIT et le Département d’ingénierie civile et environnementale du MIT (directeur Markus Buehler)
ÉLIANE RADIGUE
Occam Ocean
Concerto pour arachnides
14 décembre 2018, 19h30
CONCERT COMPLET
Éliane Radigue propose une suite de sa série Occam Ocean, exploration sonore commencée en 2011. Privilégiant des instruments et tessitures à basse et moyenne fréquences, mieux aptes à inciter les araignées à réagir, les musiciens jouent en solo, duos ou quatuors afin de susciter un « dialogue » concertant avec elles.
OCCAM RIVER XXII (création) | Éliane Radigue et Carol Robinson
Carol Robinson, clarinette basse et Bertrand Gauguet, saxophone
OCCAM RIVER XIX (2018) | Éliane Radigue
Yannick Guédon, baryton et Julia Eckhardt, alto
OCCAM DELTA XVIII (création) | Éliane Radigue
Yannick Guédon, baryton, Carol Robinson, clarinette basse, Bertrand Gauguet, saxophone, Julia Eckhardt, alto, et Holocnemus pluchei