Claude Vivier

[Music]

The program features two works by Claude Vivier: Shiraz for piano, one of his most famous compositions, and Journal, rarely performed in concert yet offering a quintessential expression of the composer’s poetics where dreams and life intermingle. “I have always been aware of a presence wanting me to write this music.”

After returning from Bali and Thailand, Claude Vivier went to Iran in 1977, and there, in Shiraz, was fascinated by the gardens and the marble tomb of the poet, philosopher and mystic Hafez, and the tomb of the poet Saadi, as well as being greatly impressed by two blind singers on the market place, listening to them for hours. A few months after he went back to Canada, he wrote Shiraz, a virtuoso score for piano, requiring brilliance to negotiate the sharp angles, "the rough cut diamond" which was the composer’s vision of the city in southern Iran, near Persepolis.
In the same year he wrote Journal (originally “Journal [log or diary] of travels in the East. These travels proved to be a journey of initiation, taking on a poetic dimension. Yet the East eventually faded, and the journey became life’s journey, from childhood with songs and nursery rhymes, the mother figure and a desperate quest, and the fear of the dark, but also with those who helped relieve the torment (Merlin the Magician, Mr. Pickwick, Pinocchio, and Frère Jacques); then love, insatiable love, the discovery and recollection of love, and sex with the “marvelous prow,” and death, the carillon and the spiritualist sentiment emanating from Mayakovsky who had chosen suicide, before next crossing a melody of light leading to awareness, then beyond, towards more subtle spheres of the universe.
––––––
Duration (concert): 1 hour
Duration (screening) Kopernikus: 1 hour 35 minutes

Claude Vivier

[Musique]

Ce concert présente deux œuvres de Claude Vivier, l’une de ses plus célèbres, Shiraz, pour piano, et Journal, rare au concert, quintessence de sa poétique, où le rêve et la vie se mêlent : « J’ai toujours ressenti une présence qui voulait que j’écrive cette musique. »

De retour de Bali et de Thaïlande, Claude Vivier se rend en Iran, en 1977. À Shiraz, les jardins, le mausolée en marbre du poète, philosophe et mystique Hafez, ou celui du conteur Saadi le retiennent, autant que le souvenir de deux chanteurs aveugles, écoutés des heures durant sur un marché. De cette rencontre résulte, quelques mois à peine après son retour au Canada, Shiraz, une œuvre pour piano, brillante, virtuose, escarpée, sinon abrupte, à l’image du « diamant taillé durement » que serait, selon le compositeur, cette ville du sud iranien, non loin de Persépolis.
Journal, composé la même année, portait comme titre de travail : Journal d’un voyage en Orient. De ce périple qui se révéla initiatique, il devait donner une vision poétique. Pourtant, l’Asie disparut tout à fait et le voyage devint celui de l’existence : l’enfance, ses rondes et ses chansons, la figure de la mère et sa quête éperdue, la peur du noir et ceux qui viennent en calmer les angoisses (Merlin l’enchanteur, Mister Pickwick, Pinocchio, Bruder Jakob) ; l’amour, jusqu’à plus soif, sa découverte et sa « souvenance », le sexe comme « proue merveilleuse » ; la mort, le carillon et les vibrations spiritistes du suicidé Maïakovski, avant la traversée d’une mélodie de lumière ouvrant la conscience ; l’au-delà, vers les sphères plus subtiles de l’univers.
––––––
Durée du concert : 1h
––––––
Projection de l’opéra Kopernikus
Durée de la projection : 1h35
Plus d'informations sur l'opéra Kopernikus ici