Lena Herzog Last Whispers
Oratorio for Vanishing Voices
Collapsing Universes & a Falling Tree

[Film / Music]

Our linguistic diversity is fading, the dynamic force of transmission has dwindled, and dominant languages have gained even more ground. Every week one language is lost to the world. Of the 7000 languages known to experts today, half will be lost to mankind before the end of the century. Lena Herzog focused on the subject for Last Whispers, an "immersive oratorio" for a high-tech audio and video installation.

How can a human community survive the loss of its own means of communication which is also the means of self-knowledge? How is it possible to accept the loss of this part of the self, a part inherited by every individual and which, through the dense layers of eras and civilization, has given meaning to the world where humans have settled? It was no doubt too late when the United Nations, through UNESCO, acclaimed 2019 as the International Year of Indigenous Languages. Extinction of languages is occurring on a massive scale, and is manifested only through silence. The disaster has haunted the work of Lena Herzog.
In Last Whispers we hear the final murmurs of these languages swept away by human excess and folly. Lena Herzog has us listen to them: Wanano spoken by native peoples of Brazil and Colombia, Ayoreo spoken by the few remaining tribes in forestland in Paraguay, Bathari in Oman, and Tosu, a Tibeto-Burman language from Sichuan. Her exploration of the archives of the Endangered Languages Documentation Program at the School of Oriental and African Studies (University of London) produced recordings which she has developed as direct testimony from the human race when still endowed with a multitude of rich and varied forms of expression. The languages have been transposed and transformed to fashion a fascinating audio sequence. Black and white footage comprises the video side of a dialogue conducted with the research recordings, processed for 8.1 spatial sound and heard via binaural headphones, taking the audience into the ontological depths of language forms that endowed meaning on human ventures. Lena Herzog’s visionary concern makes the impending end of such worlds a tangible prospect, in a bid to avert it.
––––––
The sound and video systems are adjusted for each session to provide an individual experience, listening to the sound via binaural headphones (for the Théâtre de la Ville in the small Espace Cardin auditorium) and in a number of schools in Paris and the Greater Paris region.
The sessions (running for approximately two hours) include a brief introduction, the screening of Last Whispers, then a discussion with the audience led by a moderator.
––––––
Duration: 45 min.

Lena Herzog Last Whispers
Oratorio for Vanishing Voices
Collapsing Universes & a Falling Tree

[Film / Musique]

Notre diversité linguistique s’érode. La dynamique de transmission s’étiole au profit des langues dominantes. Chaque semaine, une langue disparaît de la surface du monde. Les scientifiques en recensent 7 000 aujourd’hui, la moitié d’entre elles auront disparu d’ici la fin du siècle. Lena Herzog s’empare de cette thématique : Last Whispers est un « oratorio immersif » composé pour une installation audiovisuelle de haute technicité.

Comment une collectivité humaine survit-elle à la perte de cet outil de communication qui est aussi outil de connaissance de soi ? Comment accepter la fin de cette part de soi-même, dont chacun hérite et qui, dans l’épaisseur des âges civilisationnels, a donné sens au monde que nous sommes venus habiter ? Parce qu’il est trop tard sans doute, l’ONU et l’Unesco ont fait de 2019 l’Année internationale des langues autochtones. L’extinction est massive, son seul signe est le silence lui-même. Cette catastrophe hante l’art de Lena Herzog.
Last Whispers, ce sont les derniers murmures de ces langues que la démesure humaine emporte avec elle. Lena Herzog nous les fait écouter : le wanano des peuples indigènes du Brésil et de la Colombie, l’ayoreo des dernières tribus réfugiées dans les forêts du Paraguay, le bathari d’Oman, le tosu, langue tibéto-birmane du Sichuan. De sa plongée dans les archives du programme consacré aux langues menacées (ELDP) à l’École pour les études orientales et africaines (SOAS, Université de Londres), elle a extrait ces documents d’archives qu’elle a travaillés comme le témoignage brut d’une humanité encore riche de sa diversité. Elle a ainsi transmué ces langues en une fascinante séquence acoustique. Les images tournées en noir et blanc dialoguent avec les archives scientifiques et le son 8.1 ou binaural nous plongent au plus profond de ces ontologies qui ont donné sens à l’aventure humaine. L’inquiétude visionnaire de Lena Herzog tient à ceci : éprouver l’imminence de cette fin de monde pour l’éviter.
––––––
Le dispositif sonore et visuel fait l’objet d’une adaptation permettant d’organiser des séances avec écoute individuelle au casque en son binaural, au Théâtre de la Ville – Espace Cardin, à la Maison de la musique de Nanterre et dans certains établissements scolaires à Paris et en Île-de-France.
Les séances de deux heures environ proposent une courte introduction, la projection de Last Whispers puis une discussion entre public et médiateur.
––––––
Durée : 45 min.