Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Gisèle Vienne

Crowd

Dance

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    Crowd, a piece for 15 dancers, delivers a painstaking dissection of the dark side within us and our need for violence. It represents a culminating point in Gisèle Vienne’s trajectory. Her healthy disrespect for the different artistic practices restores to the stage its unique cathartic power.
    Behind their technical and formal perfection, Gisèle Vienne’s productions are often perceived as being “disturbing” or, at the very least, unclassifiable. Since Showroomdummies (2001), she has been digging deeper and deeper into the eternal duality - Eros and Thanatos, Apollo and Dionysos - to be found at the core of our humanity. For Gisèle Vienne, the innate thirst for violence that we all carry within us also has something of the erotic and the sacred. Crowd, a choreography devised for 15 performers attending a festive event, represents the coming together of the different aspects of her unerring, unique form of research. Its overflowing, polyphonic form brings to (black) light all the various mechanisms underpinning manifestations of collective euphoria such as this, and “the way in which a given community can handle (or not) the expression of violence”. With a background in music, puppetry, philosophy and the visual arts, the universe that Gisèle Vienne brings to the stage is a fragmentary one. Different realities and time-scales rub shoulders, and the jerky movements and gestures owe as much to urban dance as they do to puppetry. Within this universe, Dennis Cooper’s text and the music by the KTL duo become instruments of theatre. They disturb our perceptions, simultaneously blurring the frontiers between interiority and exteriority, daydream and frenzied rave party. Alternating between the very contemporary and, thanks to its the cathartic dimension, the powerfully archaic, Crowd brings to the stage a dialogue “with our innermost selves”.

    Devised, choreographed and designed by Gisèle Vienne
    Assisted by, Anja Röttgerkamp et Nuria Guiu Sagarra
    Mix, edit and playlist selection, Peter Rehberg
    Sound diffusion supervisor, Stephen O’Malley
    Sound engineer, Adrien Michel
    Lighting, Patrick Riou
    Dramaturgy, Gisèle Vienne and Denis Cooper
    Assistant directors, Anja Röttgerkamp and Nuria Guiu Sagarra
    Production and distribution, Alma Office : Anne-Lise Gobin, Alix Sarrade & Camille Queval
    Administration, Etienne Hunsinger

    With Philip Berlin, Marine Chesnais, Kerstin Daley-Baradel, Sylvain Decloitre, Sophie Demeyer, Vincent Dupuy, Massimo Fusco, Rémi Hollant, Oskar Landström, Théo Livesey, Louise Perming, Katia Petrowick, Jonathan Schatz, Henrietta Wallberg and Tyra Wigg

    Executive production DACM // Co-produced by Le Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne ; Wiener Festwochen ; manège – Scène Nationale – Reims ; Théâtre National de Bretagne – Centre Européen Théâtral et Chorégraphique (Rennes) ; CDN Orléans/Loiret/Centre ; La Filature, Scène nationale (Mulhouse) ; BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen) ; and Nanterre-Amandiers, centre dramatique national // In association with Nanterre-Amandiers, centre dramatique national ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris // With support from CCN2 – Centre Chorégraphique national de Grenoble // With support from CND centre national de la danse // First performed on 8th Novembre 2017 at Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Gisèle Vienne

Crowd

Danse

    DATES ET LIEUX

    Pièce pour 15 danseurs, Crowd s’inscrit avec force dans le travail de Gisèle Vienne qui, depuis plusieurs années, ausculte minutieusement notre part d’ombre et notre besoin de violence. Un cheminement qui, faisant fi des disciplines artistiques, rend à la scène toute sa puissance cathartique.
    Inclassables, souvent perçues comme « dérangeantes » derrière la perfection de leur facture et de leur forme, les pièces de Gisèle Vienne n’ont eu de cesse de sonder, depuis Showroomdummies (2001), l’éternelle dualité – Eros et Thanatos, Apollon et Dionysos – qui est au cœur de notre humanité, la nécessaire soif de violence que chacun porte en soi, dans toute sa part d’érotisme mais aussi de sacré. Crowd est une nouvelle étape dans cette recherche d’une singulière constance. Chorégraphie conçue pour 15 interprètes réunis le temps d’une fête, cette ample polyphonie met en lumière (noire) tous les mécanismes qui sous-tendent de telles manifestations d’euphorie collective, et « la façon dont une communauté spécifique peut gérer (ou non) l’expression de la violence ». Formée à la musique avant d’être initiée à l’art de la marionnette, nourrie de philosophie et d’arts plastiques, Gisèle Vienne met en scène un univers de la fragmentation, où coexistent plusieurs réalités et temporalités. Un univers où les gestes saccadés empruntent tout autant aux danses urbaines qu’au théâtre de marionnette, où la dramaturgie de Dennis Cooper, le DJ set de Peter Rehberg et la musique du duo KTL (Stephen O’Malley et Peter Rehberg) agissent comme autant d’agents perturbant notre perception en même temps qu’ils brouillent la frontière entre intériorité et extériorité, entre rêve éveillé et rave endiablée. À la fois contemporain et puissamment archaïque dans sa dimension cathartique, Crowd est le lieu d’un dialogue « avec ce qui nous est le plus intime ».

    Conception, chorégraphie et scénographie, Gisèle Vienne
    Assistantes mise en scène, Anja Röttgerkamp et Nuria Guiu Sagarra
    Mixage, montage et sélection musique, Peter Rehberg
    Conception de la diffusion du son, Stephen O’Malley
    Ingénieur du son, Adrien Michel
    Lumières, Patrick Riou
    Dramaturgie, Gisèle Vienne et Denis Cooper
    Avec Philip Berlin, Marine Chesnais, Kerstin Daley-Baradel, Sylvain Decloitre, Sophie Demeyer, Vincent Dupuy, Massimo Fusco, Rémi Hollant, Oskar Landström, Théo Livesey, Louise Perming, Katia Petrowick, Jonathan Schatz, Henrietta Wallberg et Tyra Wigg
    Production et diffusion, Alma Office : Anne-Lise Gobin, Alix Sarrade & Camille Queval
    Administration, Etienne Hunsinger

    Production déléguée DACM // Coproduction Le Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne ; Wiener Festwochen ; manège – Scène Nationale – Reims ; Théâtre National de Bretagne – Centre Européen Théâtral et Chorégraphique (Rennes) ; CDN Orléans/Loiret/Centre ; La Filature, Scène nationale (Mulhouse) ; BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen) ; Nanterre-Amandiers, centre dramatique national // Coréalisation Nanterre-Amandiers, centre dramatique national ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien du CCN2 – Centre Chorégraphique national de Grenoble // Avec le soutien du CND centre national de la danse // Spectacle créé le 8 novembre 2017 au Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg – scène européenne

    Autour du spectacle Crowd de Gisèle Vienne
    - Tribune avec Gisèle Vienne et l’équipe artistique de Crowd
    Jeudi 14 décembre à l'issue de la représentation.
    Accès libre.