Jérôme Bel Disabled Theater

[Dance]

Taken aback by the powerful presence of Theater HORA’s handicapped performers, Jérôme Bel has devised a show which affords them not only visibility but also their own space: a place in which to dance and express themselves. This is done without seeking to limit the range of possibilities, nor hide the singularity of which their body is both sign and affirmation.
Following his invitation by the dramaturge at Theater HORA to meet the mentally handicapped actors that work there, Jérôme Bel has come up with a show that pieces together the experience of this encounter. The staging is one which exposes the uniqueness of these actors and affirms the necessity, in political terms as much as aesthetic, to invest the performance space with this presence. How does this state, generally hidden from view, provoke the accepted conventions that are prevalent in theatre in society alike? How can we make visible the inherent and radical criticism of ourselves that these bodies confront us with?
In order to show without demonstrating, Jérôme Bel has devised Disabled Theater: a “theatre which is precarious, slowed down, undermined and void of savoir-faire”. Through this modification of the theatrical tool, stripping it back to its bare roots, he seeks to open theatre’s black box in order to shed light on what this tool both contains and retains: the irrevocable blocks of presence that form this experience of what we term “theatre” or “dance”. As in the work of Véronique Doisneau or Cédric Andrieux, and their “unfolding” of the individual in terms of the practices and discourse that make him or her up, the performer is placed at the heart of the process. He or she is seen in a plural way, in terms of their otherness, and condition as absolute minority. Here, dance, picks up from where words fail.

Jérôme Bel Disabled Theater

[Danse]

Frappé par la présence puissante des interprètes handicapés du Theater HORA, Jérôme Bel a conçu un spectacle qui puisse les rendre visibles tout en leur laissant la place : place de danser, de s’exprimer, sans chercher à limiter le champ des possibles, ni à voiler la singularité dont leur corps est tout à la fois le signe et l’affirmation.
Invité par le dramaturge du Theater HORA à rencontrer les acteurs handicapés mentaux qui y travaillent, Jérôme Bel a conçu un spectacle restituant l’expérience de cette rencontre : un dispositif scénique exposant la singularité de ces comédiens et affirmant la nécessité, politique tout autant qu’esthétique, à inscrire cette présence dans l’espace de la représentation. Comment cet état, d’ordinaire dérobé au regard, vient provoquer les conventions admises – celles du théâtre et celles de la société ? Comment donner à voir la critique immanente et radicale adressée par ces corps ?
Afin de montrer sans démontrer, Jérôme Bel a produit un Disabled Theater : « un théâtre faible, ralenti, affaibli, sans savoir-faire ». Altérant l’appareil spectaculaire, le réduisant à sa racine, il cherche à ouvrir la boîte noire pour laisser apparaître ce qu’il contient et tout à la fois retient : les blocs de présence irréductibles qui forment cette expérience que l’on appelle « théâtre » ou que l’on appelle « danse ». Comme pour Véronique Doisneau ou Cédric Andrieux, qui dépliaient à partir d’un individu les pratiques et les discours qui le fondent, l’interprète est placé au cœur du processus : un interprète ici au pluriel, exposé dans son altérité, sa condition de minorité absolue, et où la danse prend le relais d’une parole défaillante.