Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Nadia Beugré

Tapis rouge

Dance

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    What lies beneath the red carpet that we roll out, in Africa and across the world, for the powerful and the mighty? In Tapis rouge, the choreographer Nadia Beugré, born in Côte d’Ivoire, takes an uncompromising look at the world of those “down below” and the bodies of exploited workers. 
    Tapis rouge came into existence as part of the Festival d’Avignon’s “Sujets à vif” performances, in the form of a encounter between Nadia Beugré and the composer and guitarist Seb Martel. Since then, the French-based choreographer has transformed this matter into a full-length format by bringing a supplementary dancer on board. In it, she pursues a choreographic quest in the form of protest, in support of the marginalized sections of society in Africa and elsewhere. The red carpet found in the title, that of the stars, is no more than the modern incarnation of a long tradition: that of marking out a sacred path, isolated from the ground, which avoided members of the ancient clergy from having to engage in any symbolic contact with the world beneath them. The difference with this Red Carpet, however, is that it goes in search of what lies beneath this piece of fabric. After seeing for herself the exhausted bodies of women and children working in the mines of Burkina Faso, Nadia Beugré talks, through her dance, of the brutality to which seemingly invisible groups of people are often subjected. With a solid background in Ivorian traditional dances, she began working with the Tché-Tché dance company, alongside Béatrice Kombé. Today, Nadia Beugré’s artistic path is one she pursues with great conviction. In parallel to her own projects, she collaborates with the likes of Dorothée Munyaneza and Boris Charmatz.

    Choreographed and performed by Nadia Beugré
    Music created and performed live by Seb Martel
    Performer, Adonis Nebié
    Artistic advice and dramaturgy, Boris Hennion
    Stage design, Erik Houllier
    Sound design, Thomas Fernier
    Extra, Aurélien Menu

    A production by Latitudes Prod. (Lille) // Co-produced by Le Vivat – scène conventionnée (Armentières) ; Musée de la danse / Centre chorégraphique national de Rennes et de Bretagne ; Ballet national de Darmstadt ; Théâtre Garonne – Scène européenne (Toulouse) ; BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen) ; La Bâtie – Festival de Genève ; Festival Montpellier Danse 2017 ; Le Parvis, Scène Nationale Tarbes-Pyrénées ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris // In association with CDC Atelier de Paris / Centre de développement chorégraphique national ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris // With support from DRAC Hauts-de-France, de la Région Hauts-de-France and Fonds Transfabrik – the Franco-German performing arts fund // First performed on the 24th January 2017 at Vivat – scène conventionnée (Armentières)

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Nadia Beugré

Tapis rouge

Danse

    DATES ET LIEUX

    Que recouvre le tapis d’honneur que l’on déroule, en Afrique comme à travers le monde, aux plus puissants ? Dans Tapis rouge, la chorégraphe Nadia Beugré, née en Côte d’Ivoire, met en lumière avec âpreté le monde du « dessous » et les corps des travailleurs exploités.
    Tapis rouge avait vu le jour parmi les « Sujets à vif » du Festival d’Avignon, comme un corps-à-corps entre Nadia Beugré et le compositeur et guitariste Seb Martel. Depuis, la chorégraphe installée en France a transformé cette matière en forme longue, en associant un danseur supplémentaire. Elle y poursuit une quête chorégraphique en forme de lutte, au service des marginalisés d’Afrique ou d’ailleurs. Le tapis rouge du titre, celui des stars, n’est que l’incarnation moderne d’une longue tradition : celle de tracer une piste sacrée, isolée de la terre, qui permettait déjà au clergé antique d’éviter tout contact symbolique avec le bas monde. Tapis rouge va au contraire chercher du côté de ce que l’on cache sous ce tissu. Marquée par sa rencontre, au Burkina Faso, avec des femmes et des enfants qui se saignaient dans les mines, Nadia Beugré parle, à travers sa danse, de la brutalité exercée à l’égard de groupes souvent invisibles. Passée par les danses traditionnelles ivoiriennes puis par la compagnie Tché-Tché aux côtés de Béatrice Kombé, Nadia Beugré trace aujourd’hui son chemin artistique avec conviction, et collabore en parallèle avec Dorothée Munyaneza ou Boris Charmatz.

    Chorégraphie et interprétation, Nadia Beugré
    Création musicale et interprétation, Seb Martel
    Interprétation, Adonis Nebié
    Conseil artistique et dramaturgie, Boris Hennion
    Scénographie, Erik Houllier
    Création sonore, Thomas Fernier
    Figuration, Aurélien Menu

    Production déléguée Latitudes Prod. (Lille) // Coproduction Le Vivat – scène conventionnée (Armentières) ; Musée de la danse / Centre chorégraphique national de Rennes et de Bretagne ; Ballet national de Darmstadt ; Théâtre Garonne – Scène européenne (Toulouse) ; BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen) ; La Bâtie – Festival de Genève ; Festival Montpellier Danse 2017 ; Le Parvis, Scène Nationale Tarbes-Pyrénées ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Coréalisation CDC Atelier de Paris / Centre de développement chorégraphique national ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de la DRAC Hauts-de-France, de la Région Hauts-de-France et du Fonds Transfabrik – fonds franco-allemand pour le spectacle vivant // Spectacle créé le 24 janvier 2017 au Vivat – scène conventionnée (Armentières)