Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Nicolas Bouchaud
Éric Didry

Old Masters (comedy)

by Thomas Bernhard

Theatre

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    Thomas Bernhard’s penultimate novel is a liberating comedy which overturns everything in its passage, and in particular certain monuments of European culture - ranging from Beethoven to Heidegger, and from Veronese to Klimt. Accompanied by Éric Didry et Véronique Timsit, Nicholas Bouchaud brings out all of its relevance, whilst highlighting its acute observations about artistic transmission and heritage.
    At Vienna’s Museum of Art History, the paths of three characters cross, and with it their thoughts on art, childhood, the Catholic State, the dirty condition of Viennese toilets, grief and even the music industry, that “true mass-murderer of humanity”... These three voices come together as one in a piece full of outbursts, ranging from the enraged, to the burlesque and the erudite. Little by little, the satire gives way to a family-based novel, consisting of the fictive biographies of the characters, interspersed with pages from their journals of mourning. How can we rid ourselves of our different forms of inheritance, from the collective to the intimate, in order to live in the present - whilst recognizing, at the same time, the undeniable hold they still exercise on us? How can we avoid turning the masters of the past into museum pieces? Drawing on a wide range of influences ranging from the Dada movement to Johnny Rotten, the show enquires into the essence of an artistic gesture that represents a clean break with all that precedes it. The staging blurs the distinction between the audience and the stage in order to better include them in the journey the words take. Indeed, what the Old Masters invite us to do is to get off the beaten track of the everything we take for granted. This radical approach to life and art is, above all, an open invitation to joy and a promise of emancipation.

    A project by and with Nicolas Bouchaud
    Directed by Éric Didry
    Translated into French by Gilberte Lambrichs, published by Editions Gallimard
    Adaptation, Nicolas Bouchaud, Éric Didry, and Véronique Timsit
    Artistic collaboration, Véronique Timsit
    Set design, Élise Capdenat, Pia de Compiègne
    Lighting, Philippe Berthomé
    Sound, Manuel Coursin
    Stage management, Ronan Cahoreau-Gallier
    Production, Nicolas Roux

    Produced by Nicolas Roux // Executive producer, Le Quai Centre dramatique national Angers Pays de la Loire // Co-produced by Festival d’Automne à Paris, Théâtre de la Bastille, Compagnie Italienne avec Orchestre Bonlieu – Scène Nationale, and Espace Malraux de Chambéry – Scène Nationale // In association with Théâtre de la Bastille (Paris) ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris // With the support of La Villette (Paris) ; du Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, CDN.// L’Arche is the theatrical agent for the text (www.arche-editeur.com) // First performed on the 7th November 2017 at Quai Centre dramatique national Angers Pays de la Loire // In partnership with France Inter

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Nicolas Bouchaud
Éric Didry

Maîtres anciens (comédie)

de Thomas Bernhard

Théâtre

    DATES ET LIEUX

    L’avant-dernier roman de Thomas Bernhard est une comédie libératrice qui bouscule tout sur son passage, et notamment certains monuments de la culture européenne – de Beethoven à Heidegger, de Véronèse à Klimt. Nicolas Bouchaud, accompagné d’Éric Didry et Véronique Timsit, en révèle la puissance d’interpellation, tout en soulignant l’acuité de son propos sur la transmission.
    Au musée d’art ancien de Vienne, trois personnages se croisent et mêlent leurs propos sur l’art, l’enfance, l’État catholique, la saleté des toilettes viennoises, le deuil, ou encore l’industrie musicale, « véritable massacreur de l’humanité »… Ces trois voix n’en font qu’une dans ce spectacle qui fait la part belle à une langue en constant débordement, tour à tour rageuse, burlesque et érudite. Progressivement, la satire fait place à un roman familial, dans lequel se lisent les biographies fictives des personnages et s’intercalent les pages d’un journal de deuil. Comment se défaire de nos héritages, qu’ils soient collectifs ou intimes, pour vivre au présent – tout en reconnaissant leur indéniable emprise ? Comment éviter de figer nos maîtres en autant de pièces de musées ? Évoquant aussi bien l’influence du mouvement dada que de Johnny Rotten, le spectacle interroge l’essence d’un geste artistique de pure rupture. La mise en scène brouille la frontière entre la salle et la scène pour mieux inclure le public dans le cheminement de la parole. Sortir des voies balisées de l’histoire officielle, voilà ce à quoi Maîtres anciens nous invite, avec une radicalité qui est avant tout une ouverture à la joie et une promesse d’émancipation.

    La salle qui accueille ce spectacle n’est malheureusement pas accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Nous vous présentons nos excuses.

    Un projet de et avec Nicolas Bouchaud
    Mise en scène, Éric Didry
    Traduction francaise par Gilberte Lambrichs, publiée aux Éditions Gallimard
    Adaptation, Nicolas Bouchaud, Éric Didry, Véronique Timsit
    Collaboration artistique, Véronique Timsit
    Scénographie, Élise Capdenat, Pia de Compiègne
    Lumières, Philippe Berthomé
    Son, Manuel Coursin
    Régie générale, Ronan Cahoreau-Gallier
    Production, Nicolas Roux

    Production déléguée Le Quai Centre dramatique national Angers Pays de la Loire // Coproduction Compagnie Italienne avec Orchestre ; Bonlieu Scène nationale (Annecy) ; Espace Malraux scène nationale de Chambéry et de la Savoie ; Théâtre de la Bastille (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Coréalisation Théâtre de la Bastille (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de La Villette (Paris) ; du Nouveau Théâtre de Montreuil, CDN. // L’Arche est agent théâtral du texte représenté (www.arche-editeur.com). // En partenariat avec France Inter // Spectacle créé le 7 novembre 2017 au Quai Centre dramatique national Angers Pays de la Loire