Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Simon McBurney
Complicité

Beware of Pity

by Stefan Zweig

Theatre

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES
    • Les Gémeaux / Scène Nationale
      September 14 to September 24

    The director Simon McBurney and actors from Berlin’s prestigious Schaubühne join forces in a stage version of Stefan Zweig’s only novel. This tragic novel plunges us deep into the intricacies and illusions of compassion. It does so in a way which is both timeless and ruthlessly contemporary.
    First and foremost, this encounter at the summit of artistic creation features two of the Festival d’Automne à Paris’s long-standing partners: the British director Simon McBurney and Berlin’s Schaubühnetroop of actors. For Simon McBurney, an true craftsman of image and movement in theatre, it is a means to explore in more depth a question which has been gnawing away at him: that of compassion. After touching upon it in his adaptation of Boulgakov’s The Master and Margarita, compassion is indeed the issue at the heart of Beware of Pity, Stefan Zweig’s only full-length novel, published in 1939. At the dawn of the First World War, this dangerous form of pity, this “impatience of the heart” (the novel’s original title) is what the cavalry-officer-to-be Anton Hofmiller feels for the beautiful Edith de Kekesfalva, the paralyzed young daughter of a rich landowner. She is madly in love with him. Two human beings, two worlds and much in the way of mixed feelings... Recounted in a retrospective and polyphonic way, this flawed, warped relationship and its inherently tragic story takes on a collective dimension. It also has sinister, contemporary undertones: in what way is compassion the other side of cowardice and egoism? Thought it might think it has an awareness of the worst of the worst, how is it possible that a whole generation can be heading straight for catastrophe?  

    Directed by Simon McBurney
    With Marie Burchard, Robert Beyer, Johannes Flaschberger, Christoph Gawenda, Moritz Gottwald, Laurenz Laufenberg, and Eva Meckbach
    Assistant director, James Yeatman
    Adaptation, Simon McBurney, James Yeatman, Maja Zade and the troupe
    Stage design, Anna Fleische
    Costumes, Holly Waddington
    Lighting, Paul Anderson
    Sound, Pete Malkin
    Videos, Wild Duke
    Dramaturgy, Maja Zade

     A Complicité coproduction ; Schaubühne Berlin // In association with Les Gémeaux, scène nationale de Sceaux ; Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // With support from the Adami // In partnership with France Inter // First performed on 22nd December 2015 at the Schaubühne, Berlin

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Simon McBurney
Complicité

La Pitié dangereuse

de Stefan Zweig

Théâtre

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Les Gémeaux / Scène Nationale
      14 au 24 septembre

    Le metteur en scène Simon McBurney rencontre les comédiens de la prestigieuse Schaubühne de Berlin autour de l’unique roman de Stefan Zweig : une plongée vertigineuse et tragique, à la fois intemporelle et impitoyablement contemporaine, dans les méandres et les mirages de la compassion.
    C’est, d’abord, une rencontre au sommet : celle du metteur en scène britannique Simon McBurney et de la troupe de comédiens de la Schaubühne de Berlin, l’un et l’autre compagnons de longue date du Festival d’Automne à Paris. C’est ensuite, pour Simon McBurney, artisan d’un théâtre de l’image et du mouvement, une manière d’explorer plus profondément une question qui le taraude : celle de la compassion. Déjà présente en filigrane dans l’adaptation qu’il a faite, avec sa compagnie Complicité, du Maître et Marguerite de Boulgakov, celle-ci est en effet au cœur de La Pitié dangereuse, unique roman achevé par Stefan Zweig, publié en 1939. Cette pitié dangereuse, cette « impatience du cœur » (titre original du roman), c’est celle qu’éprouve, à la veille de la Première Guerre mondiale, le lieutenant Anton Hofmiller pour la belle Édith de Kekesfalva, jeune paralytique fille d’un riche propriétaire terrien, follement amoureuse de lui ; deux êtres, deux mondes, une confusion de sentiments... Narrée sur un mode rétrospectif et polyphonique, l’histoire de cette relation bancale, faussée et forcément tragique acquiert une dimension collective et une résonance sinistrement contemporaine : comment la compassion peut-elle être l’autre visage de la lâcheté et de l’égoïsme ? Comment, bien qu’elle pense avoir conscience du pire, une génération peut-elle courir au cataclysme ?


    Public sourd et malentendant : ce spectacle est surtitré en français

    Mise en scène, Simon McBurney
    Avec Marie Burchard, Robert Beyer, Johannes Flaschberger, Christoph Gawenda, Moritz Gottwald, Laurenz Laufenberg, Eva Meckbach
    Assistant mise en scène, James Yeatman
    Adaptation, Simon McBurney, James Yeatman, Maja Zade et l’ensemble
    Scénographie, Anna Fleische
    Costumes, Holly Waddington
    Lumières, Paul Anderson
    Son, Pete Malkin
    Assistant son, Benjamin Grant
    Vidéos, Wild Duke
    Dramaturgie, Maja Zade

    Coproduction Complicité ; Schaubühne Berlin // Coréalisation Les Gémeaux, scène nationale de Sceaux ; Théâtre de la Ville-Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de l’Adami // En partenariat avec France Inter // Spectacle créé le 22 décembre 2015 à la Schaubühne Berlin