Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Timofeï Kouliabine

Les Trois Sœurs

by Anton Chekhov

Theatre

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES

    Timofeï Kouliabine, a leading figure in the young generation of Russian theatre-makers, has decided to stage The Three Sisters... in sign language. in doing so, he brings us a theatrical tour de force in which we are given an entirely fresh insight into Chekhov’s monumental text, but without losing any of its power and grandeur.
    While studying at the Academy of Moscow, his teacher, Oleg Koudriachov, advised him and his fellow classmates to wait twenty years before even thinking of staging Chekhov. Timofeï Kouliabine, this prodigious figure in Russian theatre, decided not to follow this advice. After a number of productions, notably a highly memorable version of Eugene Onegin, Timofeï Kouliabine, at the tender age of 31 years old, now tackles a national monument in the form of The Three Sisters, the writer’s last-but-one piece. And in doing so, he also makes another dream of his come true, that of staging a piece of theatre using sign language. The result is breathtaking. Not only by virtue of the dramaturgical pertinence of associating the closed off universe of the Prozorov sisters, and their desperation at being exiled so far from Moscow, with that of the perception that deaf and dumb people sometimes have of an often hostile outside world. But also because by reducing this universe to silence, he restores to this otherwise “overdone” piece all its dramatic clout and resonance. Since Chekhov wrote it in 1901, the words of this text have been repeated by so many generations of actors that they run the risk of going unheard. In Kouliabine’s production, the gestures of the actors follow the choreography of the subtitles displayed on the screen. This enables the actors to find a physical resonance with Chekhov’s words, and to re-appropriate their infamous “sub-text” for themselves. Kouliabine’s gamble pays off: he delivers us a “show on the grandeur” of this text, which extends far beyond the words of the Prozorov sisters.

    Directed by Timofeï Kouliabine
    With Ilya Muzyko, Claudia Kachusova, Valeria Kruchnina, Irina Krivonos, Daria Yemelyanova, Linda Akhmetzyanova, Denis Frank, Pavel Polyakov, Anton Voinalovich, Konstantin Telegin, Andrei Chernykh, Alexei Mezhov, Sergei Bogomolov, Sergei Novikov, and Elena Drinevskaya
    Stage design, Oleg Golovko
    Lighting design, Denis Solntsev
    Deaf culture advisors, Veronika Koposova, and Tamara Shatula
    Sign-language instructor, Galina Nishchuk
    Caption editors, Ilya Kukharenko, and Olga Fedyanina
    Photography, Frol Podlesnyi
    Assistant director, Natalia Yarushkina
    Sound, Nina Belkina
    Lighting, Anna Kolesnikova
    Caption Operators, Yaroslav Kiselyov and Igor Lipatnikov

    A Théâtre “Krasnyi Fakel” (Red Torch) – Novossibirsk production // In association with Odéon-Théâtre de l’Europe (Paris) ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris // With support from Adami // First performed on 11th September 2015 at the Red Torch Theatre, Novossibirsk // In partnership with France Inter

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Timofeï Kouliabine

Les Trois Sœurs

d’Anton Tchekhov

Théâtre

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Odéon-Théâtre de l’Europe - Ateliers Berthier
      5 au 15 octobre

    Timofeï Kouliabine, figure-phare de la jeune génération du théâtre russe, met en scène Les Trois Sœurs... en langue des signes. Et ce faisant, il réussit le tour de force de nous faire entendre le monumental texte de Tchekhov comme pour la première fois, dans toute sa force et sa grandeur.
    Enfant prodige de la scène théâtrale russe, Timofeï Kouliabine n’aura finalement pas suivi le conseil d’Oleg Koudriachov, son professeur à l’Académie de Moscou, qui suggérait à ses élèves d’attendre vingt ans avant d’aborder Tchekhov. À 31 ans, après notamment un Eugène Onéguine d’anthologie, le metteur en scène du théâtre de Novossibirsk s’attaque ainsi au monument national à travers Les Trois Sœurs, avant-dernière pièce du maître. Et il le fait pour réaliser du même coup un vieux rêve : celui de monter une pièce en langue des signes. Le résultat est sidérant. Pas seulement en raison de la pertinence dramaturgique qu’il y a à associer l’univers clos des sœurs Prozorov, désespérément exilées loin de Moscou, à la perception que peuvent avoir les personnes sourdes-muettes d’un monde extérieur souvent hostile. Mais aussi parce qu’en le réduisant au silence, Timofeï Kouliabine rend toute sa résonance et sa force à ce texte « usé » qui, à force d’avoir été dit par des générations de comédiens depuis sa création en 1901 par Stanislavski, risquait de devenir inaudible. Les gestes des acteurs, suivant la chorégraphie des surtitres qui défilent sur l’écran, permettent à chacun de faire résonner en lui les mots de Tchekhov, et de se réapproprier ce fameux « sous-texte » dont ils sont porteurs. Kouliabine a réussi son pari : au-delà des sœurs Prozorov, il nous offre « un spectacle sur la grandeur de ce texte ».

    Public sourd et malentendant : ce spectacle en langue des signes est surtitré en français.

    Mise en scène, Timofeï Kouliabine
    Avec Ilya Muzyko, Claudia Kachusova, Valeria Kruchnina, Irina Krivonos, Daria Yemelyanova, Linda Akhmetzyanova, Denis Frank, Pavel Polyakov, Anton Voinalovich, Konstantin Telegin, Andrei Chernykh, Alexei Mezhov, Sergei Bogomolov, Sergei Novikov, Elena Drinevskaya
    Scénographie, Oleg Golovko
    Lumières, Denis Solntsev
    Enseignant langue des signes, Galina Nishchuk
    Assistante mise en scène, Natalia Yarushkina

    Production Théâtre “Krasnyi Fakel” (la Torche rouge) – Novossibirsk // Coréalisation Odéon-Théâtre de l’Europe (Paris) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris // Avec le soutien de l’Adami et de l’Onda // En partenariat avec France Inter // Spectacle créé le 11 septembre 2015 au Red Torch Theatre de Novossibirsk