Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

You are visiting the page of a show featured in the 2015 edition. Find all the shows from this edition in our archives
Portrait Luigi Nono

Luigi Nono

Prometeo, tragedia dell’ascolto

Music

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES
    • Philharmonie de Paris - Grande salle Pierre Boulez
      December 7

    Luigi Nono’s Prometeo is an auditory feast for the senses.
    A culmination of sounds and myths – an imaginary catalogue of gods and titans – this work is a stage for our memory, the names of its heroes and the maps we have drawn: strident bursts of layered music hanging in the air, gaping silences, and the struggle between the two.

    Nono strips bare the Promethean myth according to Aeschylus, removing all narrative. On occasion, the text reduced to a mere line on the score, like a muted voice felt only by the musicians themselves. There is nothing to see in Prometeo: traditionally speaking it is not an opera, despite the breadth and strength of required voices, instruments and electronics. It is in sound alone, its ebbs and flows, that the performance finds purpose: “a tragedy of listening”.

    Nono started work on Prometeo in the mid-1970’s, amidst ideological struggles and failed revolutions around the world, to be completed nearly ten years later. It less divided into scenes as is it is islands and stasimon (choral interludes in Greek tragedy); a sea journey through an archipelago with a limitless number of possible routes to take. Each island the Titan Prometheus visits comes with a theme: his gifts; the prophecies delivered to Io, loved by Zeus who transformed her into a heifer to avoid Hera’s jealousy; the works and days, no longer god and wandering in the desert; laws and norms; the angel…

    Promoteo thus gradually becomes the exegesis of a myth, in which the name of he who defied Mont Olympus takes on other figures of European culture. Prometheus is still Prometheus, but is also Ulysses, and Achilles, and Moses.

    Texts collected by Massimo Cacciari
    Walter Benjamin, Aeschylus, Euripides, Goethe, Herodotus, Hesiod, Friedrich Hölderlin, Pindar, Arnold Schoenberg, Sophocles


    Susanna Andersson, Christina Daletska, soprano
    Els Janssens, Noa Frenkel, contraltos
    Markus Francke, tenor
    Caroline Chaniolleau, Matthias Jung, speakers
    Ensemble Recherche // Schola Heidelberg − Walter Nussbaum, choir master
    SWR Sinfonieorchester Freiburg/Baden-Baden // Ingo Metzmacher, Matilda Hofman, conductors
    SWR Experimentalstudio from the Fondation Heinrich Strobel
    Michael Acker, Reinhold Braig, Joachim Haas, sound technicians
    André Richard, stage/venue design and head sound technician

    Jointly produced by the Philharmonie de Paris, and the Festival d’Automne à Paris
    In collaboration with the Holland Festival Amsterdam and the Festival de Zurich/Tonhalle
    Supported by the Fondation Ernst von Siemens pour la Musique, the Fondation Orange, and Mécénat Musical Société Générale

     

    Prometeo, tragedia dell'ascolto(a listening tragedy) is the final opus and summit of the portrait devoted to the Venice-born composer Luigi Nono (1924-1990) programmed by the Festival d’Automne à Paris over two years, 2014 and 2015. The masterpiece is being presented for the third time in France; each time it has been for the Festival d’Automne à Paris, first with the French premiere in 1987 at the Théâtre de Chaillot, then in 2000 at the Cité de la musique, and this year it will be performed at the Philharmonie de Paris where the architectural design of the auditorium will provide the attention required for the changes in listening brought about by Prometeo in the 1980s, and will be the perfect setting for the performance by instrumentalists, choir, soloists and live electronics.

    The first step along the path to Prometeo was taken in the mid-1970s. On April 4, 1975, Claudio Abbado was conducting at La Scala in Milan; it was the world premiere of Al gran sole carico d’amore (In the Full Sun Laden with Love), an “azione scenica” by Luigi Nono, staged by Yuri Lyubimov, the distinguished director and founder of the Taganka Theater in Moscow. The work was massive in its ambitions, both for the musicians required and for the background sources, depicting episodes from the Paris Commune, the 1905 Russian Revolution, protests and repression in post-1945 Italy, and with figures from guerilla movements in Latin America and Asia – all movements that ultimately were doomed to failure. Luigi Nono had read Marx and other Communist thinkers, but here he had turned his back on any spirit of gloating triumph and had accepted decline and fall as part of the experience of politics. Some of his characters have no presence beyond a verdict being handed down; and many scenes show fighters having to contend with imprisonment, or torture, or worse: Communards face the firing squad on orders from the leader of the government, Adolphe Thiers, there is the Turin massacre of workers, women held in camps in South Vietnam, and so it goes on. The opus concludes with the murder of a mother figure. Only one Utopia remains, sung in tenuous tones, in the faintest of voices, weakness already apparent.
    Soon after the premiere performance of Al gran sole, at a time of crisis and radical challenging of models from the past, Luigi Nono began contemplating a work on Prometheus. There, bound to the rock by Zeus for having revealed the secrets of the gods (fire, astronomy, numbers, navigation and hope which transcends the obsessive fear of death), the Titan god Prometheus is another tale of the fall.
    At the time, Luigi Nono was in close, almost daily contact with the philosopher and politician Massimo Cacciari, and was reading authors he had previously spurned for ideological reasons; the works included Greek tragedies such as Prometheus Bound by Aeschylus on which Prometeo is based. There was also Hölderlin, conjuring up an ideal view of ancient Greece, with poems for the string quartet Fragmente-Stille, an Diotima (Fragments-Silence, to Diotima, 1979-1980) and verses recurring in sections of Prometeo. Nietzsche with the theme of wandering and the figure of the Wanderer became a source of fascination. And there was Walter Benjamin (Cacciari being one of the leading Benjamin scholars); so Nono saw Benjamin as a figure walking tirelessly in search of new areas, stimulated by new ideas from Marxist dialectics and Jewish theology, and also as an eminent expert on the theory of baroque drama – Trauerspiel, literally mourning played as theater, quite distinct from classical Greek tragedy.
    Over a number of years, different versions of the libretto were produced; some pages were sent from the Lower House of Parliament where Massimo Cacciari held a seat from 1976 to 1983 as a member of the Italian Communist Party; (he was also a member of the Parliamentary Committee for Industry). Gradually a multilingual montage developed, with Prometheus as a figure in a constant, restless quest, citing many literary and philosophical references. The format was somewhere between a log book and a fresco. Echoing what Walter Benjamin called a “weak Messianic force,” Prometeo urges us never to consider forces defeated in the past as also being defeated in the future. Redemption from the past stands as a response to the revolutionary martyrs of Al gran sole. And while Prometheus bound is attacked by an eagle pecking out his liver, Prometheus also delivers us from the realms of mythology.

    The plan for Prometeo was soon expanded to include the painter and friend Emilio Vedova, and the architect Renzo Piano. Nono and Vedova studied color and vibrations of color as a parallel to sound waves. Just as the tragedy of Aeschylus contains a collection of adjectives related to light, so Nono, together with Vedova, imagined ways of projecting color, before abandoning the idea shortly before the premiere performance, believing that the demands made on the eyes might distract the audience from the task of listening. There was to be no stage, but simply an area, a space, a “macchina da sonàr” in times past. Renzo Piano designed a wooden arch for the church of San Lorenzo in Venice where Prometeo had its world premiere, a church with a great history of music, particularly in the late 18th century. The arch, together with the grey stone Palladian-style altar, divided the church in two; the arch was part lute, part violin, part hull of an unfinished vessel on the building site where instrumentalists, choir and soloists were positioned at different horizontal points and vertical levels, while the audience was seated within the two naves, the church nave and the nave designed by Renzo Piano. Here Luigi Nono was harking back to the masters of the Venetian Renaissance, making the physical space an integral part of the composition. He then had to develop new thoughts on sound, studying infinitesimal rustlings left suspended on the verge of silence. This he did at the Heinrich-Strobel Studio in Freiburg (Germany) on the edge of the Black Forest, starting in 1980 and experimenting repeatedly with performers and friends. The conductor chosen for the world premiere of Prometeo was Claudio Abbado, and the performance was given in the Church of San Lorenzo on September 29, 1984.

    Prometeo has now been performed 70 times around the world, and each site has been unique, with its own architecture and acoustics, with scope for the work to adapt and change through live electronics led by André Richard. Ingo Metzmacher, who conducted and recorded Prometeo in Salzburg in 1993, will be conducting the performance to be given at the Philharmonie de Paris.

    Laurent Feneyrou

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Vous êtes sur la page d'un spectacle de l'édition 2015, retrouvez tous les spectacles de cette édition dans nos archives
Portrait Luigi Nono

Luigi Nono

Prometeo, tragedia dell’ascolto

Musique

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Philharmonie de Paris - Grande salle Pierre Boulez
      7 décembre

    Prometeo de Luigi Nono est une expérience inouïe de l’écoute.
    Somme de sons et de mythes, bibliothèque imaginaire de dieux et de titans, l’œuvre est un théâtre de notre mémoire, des noms de héros qui la peuplent et des cartes que nous en avons tracées : des strates d’instants musicaux suspendus, gorgés de silences, qui se prolongent l’un l’autre ou s’interrompent à l’occasion.
    Luigi Nono emprunte le mythe de Prométhée à Eschyle et le dépouille de tout élément narratif. Le texte, dans certaines sections, n’est plus que trace sur la partition, comme un chant muet, destiné au sentiment le plus intérieur des interprètes. Et Prometeo ne donne rien à voir, n’est en rien un opéra, au sens classique, malgré la diversité des forces vocales, instrumentales et électroniques convoquées. C’est au son entièrement, à ses murmures et à ses déflagrations, qu’est dévolue la fonction de la représentation. « Tragédie de l’écoute » est son sous-titre.
    Commencé au milieu des années 1970, alors que les idéologies se fissurent déjà à l’épreuve du pouvoir et des échecs révolutionnaires à travers le monde, achevé presque dix ans plus tard, Prometeo est conçu non en scènes, mais en îles et en stasima (ces moments de chœur de la tragédie antique). Comme un itinéraire à travers un archipel riche de traversées possibles. Chaque île livre le Titan à un thème : ses dons ; les prophéties délivrées à Io, aimée de Zeus qui la transforma en génisse pour la soustraire à la jalousie d’Héra ; les travaux et les jours, quand le dieu n’est plus ou qu’il s’est retiré dans un désert ; la loi et la norme ; l’ange…
    Prometeo devient ainsi, peu à peu, patiemment, l’exégèse d’un mythe, où le nom de celui qui défia l’Olympe est tenu de recueillir d’autres figures de la culture européenne. Prométhée y est Prométhée, mais aussi Ulysse, Achille et Moïse.

    Textes réunis par Massimo Cacciari
    Walter Benjamin, Eschyle, Euripide, Goethe, Hérodote, Esiode, Friedrich Hölderlin, Pindare, Arnold Schoenberg, Sophocle

    Susanna Andersson, Christina Daletska, sopranos
    Els Janssens, Noa Frenkel, contraltos
    Markus Francke, ténor
    Caroline Chaniolleau, Matthias Jung, récitants
    Ensemble Recherche // Schola Heidelberg − Walter Nussbaum, chef de chœur
    SWR Sinfonieorchester Freiburg/Baden-Baden // Ingo Metzmacher, Matilda Hofman, chefs d’orchestre
    SWR Experimentalstudio de la Fondation Heinrich Strobel
    Michael Acker, Reinhold Braig, Joachim Haas, régie du son
    André Richard, conception de l’espace sonore et direction de la régie du son

    Coproduction Philharmonie de Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
    En collaboration avec le Holland Festival Amsterdam et le Festival de Zurich/Tonhalle

    Prometeo, « tragédie de l’écoute », marque le point d’aboutissement, le point culminant du portrait que le Festival d’Automne à Paris consacre en 2014 et 2015 au compositeur vénitien Luigi Nono (1924-1990).
    L’œuvre, magistrale, dont c’est en France la troisième série de représentations au Festival d’Automne (création française en 1987 au Théâtre de Chaillot, puis en 2000 à la Cité de la musique), trouve aujourd’hui le chemin de la Philharmonie de Paris. L’architecture de la salle, attentive aux transformations des conditions d’écoute que Prometeo induisit au milieu des années 1980, en est un écrin accompli pour recevoir ses instrumentistes, choristes, solistes et live electronics.
    Le chemin commence au milieu des années 1970.
    Le 4 avril 1975, à la Scala de Milan, Claudio Abbado dirige la création de Al gran sole carico d’amore (Au grand soleil d’amour chargé), action scénique de Luigi Nono, dans une réalisation de Youri Lioubimov, l’immense metteur en scène moscovite de la Taganka. L’œuvre, monumentale par son projet, ses effectifs et les sources qu’elle convoque, représente des épisodes de la Commune de Paris, de la révolution russe de 1905, des contestations réprimées dans l’Italie d’après 1945 et des figures de guérillas sud-américaines et asiatiques. Autant de mouvements promis à l’échec. Lecteur de Marx et d’autres penseurs du communisme, Luigi Nono renonce ici au triomphalisme et intègre la chute dans l’expérience politique. La présence de certains de ses personnages se limite à l’énoncé d’un verdict. Et nombre de scènes promettent à ceux qui luttent l’épreuve de la réclusion, sinon de la torture, quand ce n’est pas pire encore : Communards passés par les armes, à l’instigation de Thiers ; ouvriers massacrés à Turin ; femmes détenues en camps au Sud-Vietnam… L’action scénique se referme sur l’assassinat d’une Mère allégorique. Il ne reste plus qu’une utopie dont le chant, par la ténuité de ses nuances et le maigre filet des voix, pressent déjà la faiblesse.

    C’est alors, peu après la création de Al gran sole, au cours d’une période de crise et de remise en question radicale des modèles antérieurs, que Luigi Nono commence à envisager une œuvre sur Prométhée. Cloué au rocher auquel le condamne Zeus pour avoir fait tant de dons à l’homme (feu, astronomie, science du nombre, art de la navigation et cet espoir qui nous délivre de l’obsession de la mort), le Titan y est une autre déclinaison de la chute.
    Dans un compagnonnage presque quotidien avec le philosophe et homme politique Massimo Cacciari, Luigi Nono lit les auteurs que, par idéologie, il avait longtemps déconsidérés : les tragiques grecs, parmi lesquels Eschyle et son Prométhée enchaîné, dont Prometeo s’inspire principalement ; Hölderlin, qui évoqua l’idéal de la Grèce antique, aux poèmes duquel le quatuor à cordes Fragmente-Stille, an Diotima (Fragments-silence, à Diotima, 1979-1980) emprunte son programme et sur lequel reviennent plusieurs sections de Prometeo ; Nietzsche, dont le thème de l’errance et la silhouette du Wanderer le fascinent ; ou encore Walter Benjamin, dont Cacciari est l’un des commentateurs les plus avertis, et que Nono voit comme un inlassable marcheur en quête de nouveaux espaces, nourri de dialectique marxiste et de théologie juive, mais aussi comme un immense théoricien du drame de l’âge baroque – ce Trauerspiel, littéralement jeu de deuil, distinct de la tragédie grecque classique.
    Pendant des années, les versions du livret se succèdent – certains feuillets sont envoyés depuis la Chambre des députés, où Massimo Cacciari, membre du Parti communiste italien et de la Commission parlementaire pour l’industrie, siège de 1976 à 1983. Peu à peu se construit un montage polyglotte, faisant de Prométhée une figure de la recherche inquiète, incessante, et empruntant à quantité de sources littéraires et philosophiques. Entre le journal de bord et la fresque. Résonnant de ce que Walter Benjamin appelle une « faible force messianique », Prometeo invite à ne jamais considérer que les vaincus d’hier sont aussi ceux de demain. La rédemption du passé apparaît comme une réponse aux martyres révolutionnaires de Al gran sole. Et si l’aigle dévore le foie de Prométhée, celui-ci nous délivre aussi du mythologique.

    Au projet de Prometeo se joignent bientôt le peintre et ami Emilio Vedova, ainsi que l’architecte Renzo Piano. Avec le premier, Luigi Nono étudie les vibrations de la couleur, à l’image des ondes sonores. Et comme la tragédie d’Eschyle accumule les adjectifs relatifs à la lumière, il envisage même, avec Vedova, des projections colorées, auxquelles il renonce peu avant la création : la sollicitation de l’œil risque de nous détourner de l’écoute. Il n’y aura pas davantage de scène, mais seulement un espace, une macchina da sonàr, comme disaient les Anciens. Renzo Piano réalise à cet égard une arche en bois, conçue pour San Lorenzo de Venise, église au riche passé musical, notamment à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, où Prometeo doit être créé. Cette arche se conjugue à l’autel en pierre grise de l’école de Palladio, qui divise l’édifice en deux ; elle est un intermédiaire entre le luth, le violon et le navire inachevé, en chantier, où instrumentistes, choristes et solistes prennent place, à différentes hauteurs et en différents points, tandis que le public se trouve au centre des nefs – celle de l’église et celle de Renzo Piano. Luigi Nono renoue ainsi avec les maîtres de la Renaissance vénitienne et intègre pleinement l’espace à la composition. Il lui fallait encore repenser le son et en étudier les bruissements infimes, suspendus, aux confins du silence. C’est au Studio Heinrich-Strobel, à Freiburg, à la lisière de la Forêt noire, qu’il le fait, multipliant les expérimentations avec des interprètes et amis dès 1980. Et c’est à Claudio Abbado qu’il revint de diriger la création de Prometeo, à San Lorenzo, le 29 septembre 1984.
    Depuis, Prometeo a connu soixante-dix exécutions à travers le monde. À chacun des lieux, à la singularité de leur architecture et de leur acoustique, l’œuvre s’accorde et se renouvelle, par le jeu des live electronics confié à André Richard. Vingt-deux ans après l’avoir dirigée et enregistrée à Salzbourg, Ingo Metzmacher dirige la représentation de la Philharmonie de Paris.

    Laurent Feneyrou