Aller au contenu
By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies notably to carry out visitor statistics for more efficient site usage.
Loading
2017 EDITION
BOOK YOUR SUBSCRIPTION
  • Online Tickets
  • By phone +33 1 53 45 17 17
  • In person / by post

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Claude Debussy
Jörg Widmann
Luciano Berio
Igor Stravinsky

 

Music

    SCHEDULE AND VENUES
    • Philharmonie de Paris - Grande salle Pierre Boulez
      November 1 and 2

    Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Orchestre de Paris, with an extensive program and our traditional partners.
    As soon as the Paris Autumn Festival was founded in 1972, it embarked on joint initiatives with the Orchestre de Paris. Between 1972 and 1990, these included concerts conducted by names such as Georg Solti, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim and Bernard Haitink.
    The grand 50th anniversary concert will see the Orchestre de Paris conducted by Daniel Harding, and a special program designed for the event, with one work written the year the Orchestra was established: Luciano Berio’s Sinfonia composed in 1967, and dedicated to Leonard Bernstein to mark the 125th anniversary of the New York Philharmonic, will be performed here with the London Voices. Continuing with traditional partners, it will then be the Choir of the Orchestre de Paris. As anniversaries are ideal opportunities for composing original works, we can recall that Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms was commissioned by Serge Koussevitzky to mark the 50th anniversary of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Stravinsky had been asked to write something “popular” and symphonic, but insisted on the psalms and voices as well as the symphony, but it certainly became popular.
    The Orchestre de Paris could not celebrate its half century without the Festival d’Automne, nor could it celebrate music without an original work to premiere, and it will be by Jörg Widmann, a prolific composer, former student of Wolfgang Rihm, and an outstanding clarinetist who has been featured in the Festival d’Automne à Paris since 2005. The concert program also includes one of the traditional pieces in the repertoire of the orchestra, one of its great favorites: La Mer by Debussy, offering eloquent proof that vast dimensions can arise from a quest for evanescence, or, in the words of Claude Debussy: “I can glimpse the possibility of music made entirely of grand lines that would be played in the open air and take flight joyfully above the treetops.”

    Luciano Berio
    Sinfonia, for eight solo voices and orchestra
    György Ligeti
    Poème symphonique pour cent métronomes
    Jörg Widmann
    Fantasie, for clarinet solo
    Igor Stravinsky
    Symphony of Psalms, for mixed chorus and orchestra
    Intermission
    Jörg Widmann
    Au cœur de Paris (world premiere – commissioned by the Orchestre de Paris for its 50th anniversary)
    Claude Debussy
    La Mer, three symphonic sketches for orchestra
    Franz Schubert / Luciano Berio
    An die Musik, D.547, arrangement for orchestra and  chorus of Luciano Berio

    London Voices
    Ben Parry, choir master
    Chorus of the Orchestre de Paris
    Lionel Sow
    , choir master
    Orchestre de Paris
    Conductor, Daniel Harding
    Jörg Widmann,
    clarinett
    Philippe Aïche, Roland Daugareil,
    violins solos

    Coproduction: Orchestre de Paris; Festival d’Automne à Paris

Aller au contenu
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies notamment pour réaliser des statistiques de visites afin d’optimiser la fonctionnalité du site.
Chargement du calendrier
L'ÉDITION 2017
ABONNEMENT & RÉSERVATION
  • En ligne Billetterie
  • Par téléphone 01 53 45 17 17
  • Par correspondance

    Festival d’Automne à Paris
    156 rue de Rivoli
    75001 Paris

Claude Debussy
Jörg Widmann
Luciano Berio
Igor Stravinsky

 

Musique

    DATES ET LIEUX
    • Philharmonie de Paris - Grande salle Pierre Boulez
      1 et 2 novembre

    Pour la célébration de son cinquantième anniversaire, l’Orchestre de Paris propose un programme de belle ampleur, en associant des voix et des partenaires historiques.
    Dès sa fondation en 1972, le Festival d’Automne à Paris a aussitôt engagé une collaboration avec l’Orchestre de Paris ; les chefs qui ont dirigé ces concerts entre 1972 et 1990 étaient Georg Solti, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim et Bernard Haitink, entre autres.
    Pour ce grand concert de cinquantenaire que dirige Daniel Harding, l’Orchestre offre un programme d’œuvres taillées pour l’événement. Une œuvre écrite l’année de la naissance de l’Orchestre : c’est en 1967 que Luciano Berio a composé sa Sinfonia dédiée à Leonard Bernstein pour le 125e anniversaire de l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York. En fidélité à ses alliances emblématiques, après les London Voices dans Sinfonia, c’est le Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris qui se joint à la fête. Comme les anniversaires sont en effet de belles occasions de création, rappelons que la Symphonie de Psaumes a été commandée à Stravinsky par Serge Koussevitzky pour le 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston. Alors qu’on lui demandait une œuvre « populaire » au sens d’« adaptée à la compréhension populaire », Stravinsky chercha à la rendre « populaire » au sens d’« universellement admirée ».
    Et si l’Orchestre de Paris ne pouvait fêter ses cinquante ans sans le Festival d’Automne, il ne pouvait non plus célébrer la musique sans une création : en résidence auprès de l’Orchestre, Jörg Widmann, compositeur prolifique, ancien élève de Wolfgang Rihm et clarinettiste hors-pair, est depuis 2005 invité du Festival d’Automne. Le programme de ce concert inclut l’une des partitions historiquement fétiches de cet orchestre, La Mer, qui prouve encore que le gigantisme peut venir d’une recherche d’évanescence. Ou, dans les mots de Claude Debussy : « J’entrevois la possibilité d’une musique toute de grandes lignes, qui joueraient dans l’air libre et planeraient joyeusement sur la cime des arbres. »

    Entrée libre sur réservation à partir du 15 septembre sur www.festival-automne.com
    Concert diffusé en direct jeudi 2 novembre à 20h30 sur Radio Classique (disponible à la réécoute en streaming pendant 3 mois), Arte concert (disponible en streaming pendant 6 mois), Mezzo et Mezzo Live HD.

    Luciano Berio
    Sinfonia, pour huit voix  et orchestre
    György Ligeti
    Poème symphonique pour cent métronomes
    Jörg Widmann
    Fantasie, pour clarinette seule
    Igor Stravinsky

    Symphonie de Psaumes, pour chœur mixte à quatre voix et orchestre
    Entracte
    Jörg Widmann
    Au cœur de Paris (création – commande de l’Orchestre de Paris pour son 50e anniversaire)
    Claude Debussy
    La Mer, trois esquisses symphoniques pour orchestre
    Franz Schubert / Luciano Berio
    An die Musik, D.547, arrangement pour orchestre et chœur de Luciano Berio

    London Voices
    Ben Parry
    , chef de chœur
    Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris
    Lionel Sow
    , chef de chœur
    Orchestre de Paris
    Direction, Daniel Harding
    Jörg Widmann,
    clarinette
    Philippe Aïche, Roland Daugareil, violons solos

    Coproduction Orchestre de Paris ; Festival d’Automne à Paris