Silvia Costa Marino Formenti

La Femme au marteau

Archive 2021

Direction and stage design, Silvia Costa
With Hélène Alexandridis, Marief Guittier, Anne-Lise Heimburger, Rosabel Huguet Dueñas, and Pauline Moulène
With the piano sonata of Galina Ustvolskaja, performed onstage by Marino Formenti
Costumes, Laura Dondoli
Sound design, Nicola Ratti
Lighting, Marco Giusti
Text, Umberto Sebastiano
Assistant, Rosabel Huguet Dueñas
A production by Comédie de Valence, centre dramatique national Drôme-Ardèche 
A coproduction by Théâtre National de Bretagne (Rennes) ; Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg - scène européenne ; MC93 – Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis (Bobigny) ; Festival d’Automne à Paris
In association with MC93 – Maison de la Culture de Seine-Saint-Denis (Bobigny) ; and Festival d’Automne à Paris
With support from King’s Fountain

The inspiration for Silvia Costa’s latest creation stems from the fascinating mystery of the music of the Russian composer, Galina Ustvolskaja (1919-2006). Dimitri Chostakovitch’s only pupil, the musical experimentations that she embarked upon were of

Nicknamed “the lady with the hammer” because of the highly physical relationship that her scores created with the keys, Galina Ustvolskaja forged a musical universe characterised by its militantly primitive simplicity. Inspired by the composer’s strength of character and intensity of her music, the latter still rarely performed today, Silvia Costa conjures up a visual story for each of the six piano sonatas written between 1947 and 1988, performed live onstage by Marino Formenti. Six female characters, played by actresses of different ages, make up living tableaux in which desires, fears and nocturnal visions find their expression, seized upon in the intimate moment in which they are confronted with love and death. At the frontiers of theatre, dance, music and the visual arts, here Silvia Costa’s work is a quest for choreographic purity and sparsity. She delves deep into the music of Galina Ustvolskaja and in it she finds an invitation to freedom, a means by which to imbue moving bodies with an unshakeable thirst for life.

In the same place

MC93 – Maison de la culture de Seine-Saint-Denis
septembersept 18 - 22

Soa Ratsifandrihana
Fampitaha, fampita, fampitàna

Buy tickets

Committing moving bodies to a contemporary form of orality, Soa Ratsifandrihana, the guitarist Joël Rabesolo and performers Audrey Mérilus and Stanley Ollivier draw on their diasporic narratives and origins to tell a story they would have liked to hear or see. The three Malagasy words Fampitaha, fampita, fampitàna, meaning comparison, transmission and rivalry, form variations in which the performers slide in and out of different states and seem to follow a movement in perpetual metamorphosis.

MC93 – Maison de la culture de Seine-Saint-Denis
octoberoct 13

Jeanne Balibar
Les Historiennes

Buy tickets

Three women return from the past thanks to three female contemporary historians who bring them back to life via three separate accounts. Here, the actress Jeanne Balibar uses them as the basis for a staged reading. Four women from today’s world take a particularly eloquent and incisive look at three emblematic female destinies.

MC93 – Maison de la culture de Seine-Saint-Denis
novembernov 5 - 8

Nacera Belaza
La Nuée

Buy tickets

With a reputation for minimalist and captivating choreographies, Nacera Belaza continues the exploration of the circle and rhythm she initiated with Le Cercle (2019) and L'Onde (2021), both landmarks in her choreographic language. Following on from an initial period of creation in Brussels in May 2024, the choreographer then enlarged the creative process of La Nuée by inviting ten new performers to the stage.

MC93 – Maison de la culture de Seine-Saint-Denis
novembernov 14 - 17

Stefan Kaegi, Rimini Protokoll
This is not an embassy (Made in Taiwan)

Buy tickets

Rimini Protokoll's roving director Stefan Kaegi takes us, in the company of three native performers and residents, to the island of Taiwan. The fictional element of this show, in which the onstage action filmed live takes us through the twists and turns of a miniature décor, points to a somewhat grotesque geopolitical reality.

MC93 – Maison de la culture de Seine-Saint-Denis
novembernov 22 - 30

Rosana Cade, Ivor MacAskill
The Making of Pinocchio

Buy tickets

Drawing upon Collodi's tale, the Cade-MacAskill duo uses theatre to investigate the little- explored realms of queer love and affection. In doing so, they tell the story of gender transition and its repercussions on the couple. The piece itself, The Making of Pinocchio, becomes a burlesque-inspired manifesto for different forms currently under construction.

Points communs – Théâtre des Louvrais
novembernov 14 - 16
Scène nationale de l'Essonne – Théâtre de l’Agora
novembernov 19 - 20
MC93 – Maison de la culture de Seine-Saint-Denis
novembernov 29decemberdec 29
La Merise
decemberdec 12 - 14
La Ferme du Buisson, Scène nationale – cinéma – centre d’art contemporain
decemberdec 18 - 19

Joël Pommerat

Buy tickets

Inspired by the work of Marcel Pagnol, this show explores the theme of escape. Some of the actors had their first experience of theatre at the Maison centrale d'Arles prison. Marius provides audiences with a unique opportunity to discover a little-known but crucial dimension of Joël Pommerat's art.